We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”
Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Dolphin Bay Hotel in Hilo and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hilo is such a lovely town - it's a great place to escape from the touristy Kona coast. The location of the hotel is wonderful - just a short walk down to the main street (don't miss Café Pesto!). It is set amongst lush gardens and avocado and papaya trees. The rooms were very comfortable and large with your own kitchenette. The rooms do not have air conditioning but the fans were fine - it is the cooler side of the island after all. The banana bread at breakfast is super tasty. I also have to make special mention of the wonderful staff who posted my iPad (that I left behind) to me in Australia with no hassle or charge. I was very grateful for their trouble and honesty. Thank you Dolphin Bay Hotel - we will return and next time will stay for longer! Hilo deserves more time.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank ains_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 679 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

After several trips to the Kona Coast we decided to check out Hilo for a couple nights. I am so glad we did. Dopphin Bay was a very relaxing, easy place to stay. Best part was opening our patio door and walking a few feet to the fresh papaya with limes in the morning. Falling asleep to the frogs and waking to birds was not a problem at all. It was really nice to have a Family Room with a Queen and Twin bed. Finally our daughter didn't have to sleep on a roll-away!
The staff was friendly but unobtrusive. Coffee was delicious, shower was hot. What more could one ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelinMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a small hotel with friendly service and great free coffee and banana cake in the morning. The kitchen is small in the two bedroom unit but workable. The fans we adequate and we did not miss the AC. The hotel fits in well with the Hilo experience. A large condo building would not feel right in this layback city. I would go back to Dolphin Bay.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor uni.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

this was a neat little place but they have no A/C AAARRRRGGGG !! im from seattle and that means its to me very HOT- it being august - the hottest month of the year in hawaii - or so ive been told ! the gal running the place was able to round up a couple of fans for me , that was good for a constant breeze and cooled me down enough to get sleep that night this a quaint place with louvered windows and old school charm
if i get back that way in any other months i might stay there again
we,ll see

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vardis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very homey! Great for a family of five. Owners are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They offer baked goods, fresh fruit and coffee every morning. Rooms are very clean and include WiFi in a quiet neighborhood. Having a kitchen is a plus for a large family, but the only drawback is that it needs to be updated. No AC and the refrigerator in the kitchen had mold around the rubber of the door and inside was a little rusty. But from the reviews of other places for a large family and the looks of many of the places in Hilo, this was the best place (big chain hotels for a family of five did not work for us).
It his place is also a few blocks away from the farmers market and other local stores by the bay.
The bad rating for the pool and fitness center is only because this hotel doesn't have any, not because they are terrible. I can't remove the rating for these two.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emolina22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This very economically priced spot was just right for our family of five. Large two room motel room with five beds. Modest but very clean. Excellent morning coffee, free papaya, banana and banana bread, really nice touch. Really appreciated efforts to reduce waste by bringing your own mug down to coffee. The full kitchen was great for in room breakfast and snacking. The kids found avocados on the nature path adjacent to the hotel and we have been enjoying them for days.
Wendy was superb in helping us with our itinerary. Restaurant recommendations were exactly right, especially Ocean Sushi just a short stroll into town. Cafe Pesto is a winner for the nice meal out. A wonderful family feel that is so appreciated. And everyone was genuinely friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshDad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were interested to spend a couple of days to see the volcanos of the Big Island of Hawaii and chose Hilo for our lodging. The Dolphin Bay Hotel seemed like the right mix of price, simple style, and good reviews. Our expectations were either met or exceeded in all cases. Therefore they get an excellent rating from us.

We made our booking right on the Dolphin Bay Hotel website by using our credit card. A day later John confirmed for us. Then a few days after that, we received written confirmation and a map. It couldn’t have been simpler. We were asked to arrive by 8PM or make special arrangements. Our plane was delayed and so our timely arrival looked in jeopardy. We called the hotel and the night manager told us not to worry and explained where they would put our key. We called again when we landed in Hilo and the night manager said she would wait around for us. When we arrived at the hotel we had a nice 20 min discussion of things to see and do in Hawaii.

Our room was very nice and very clean. This is a small hotel built quite a number of years ago. So things aren’t modern [except for the free wifi , and the flat panel TV, and the new mattress. Despite its age, it was in very good condition. After staying in so many chains trying to outdo one another, it’s a pleasure to stay in a pleasant privately owned property.

The parking was convenient. The wifi worked splendidly. The bathroom was clean with a spacious shower. There was a kitchenette which was quite useful for keeping our lunches fresh. There was no AC in the room. Instead two fans moved the air. Our stay in May was pleasant. Those staying in summer months might want to inquire further. Each morning there is fresh coffee, hot water, and some bakery items. There is also plenty of fresh fruit picked locally. We had tree-ripened mango and bananas each morning.

We had read about manager John’s travel assistance and so did not plan our stay in Hilo very carefully. And so in the morning we waited in line for our turn while the previous guest was discussing their options. Soon we were seated across from John listening to his suggestions and watching him draw those suggestions on a map. Our session started with Questions from John about our likes and preferred level of activity and concluded with a plan that made for an exceptional day. Thank you John.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
575 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
22 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: $167 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing