We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Bay
Nearby Hotels
$201
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$174
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$159
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveler rating
363
259
52
16
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
259
52
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadfresh fruitevery morninghotel catthe big islandsmall kitchenfull kitchencoqui frogsone bedroom apartmentdowntown hilosmall hotelbanana treestropical gardenquiet streetthe lack of air conditioningfriendly hotelclose to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 695 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

this was a neat little place but they have no A/C AAARRRRGGGG !! im from seattle and that means its to me very HOT- it being august - the hottest month of the year in hawaii - or so ive been told ! the gal running the place was able to round up a couple of fans for me , that was good for a constant breeze and cooled me down enough to get sleep that night this a quaint place with louvered windows and old school charm
if i get back that way in any other months i might stay there again
we,ll see

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vardis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very homey! Great for a family of five. Owners are friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They offer baked goods, fresh fruit and coffee every morning. Rooms are very clean and include WiFi in a quiet neighborhood. Having a kitchen is a plus for a large family, but the only drawback is that it needs to be updated. No AC and the refrigerator in the kitchen had mold around the rubber of the door and inside was a little rusty. But from the reviews of other places for a large family and the looks of many of the places in Hilo, this was the best place (big chain hotels for a family of five did not work for us).
It his place is also a few blocks away from the farmers market and other local stores by the bay.
The bad rating for the pool and fitness center is only because this hotel doesn't have any, not because they are terrible. I can't remove the rating for these two.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emolina22206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This very economically priced spot was just right for our family of five. Large two room motel room with five beds. Modest but very clean. Excellent morning coffee, free papaya, banana and banana bread, really nice touch. Really appreciated efforts to reduce waste by bringing your own mug down to coffee. The full kitchen was great for in room breakfast and snacking. The kids found avocados on the nature path adjacent to the hotel and we have been enjoying them for days.
Wendy was superb in helping us with our itinerary. Restaurant recommendations were exactly right, especially Ocean Sushi just a short stroll into town. Cafe Pesto is a winner for the nice meal out. A wonderful family feel that is so appreciated. And everyone was genuinely friendly and kind.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoshDad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were interested to spend a couple of days to see the volcanos of the Big Island of Hawaii and chose Hilo for our lodging. The Dolphin Bay Hotel seemed like the right mix of price, simple style, and good reviews. Our expectations were either met or exceeded in all cases. Therefore they get an excellent rating from us.

We made our booking right on the Dolphin Bay Hotel website by using our credit card. A day later John confirmed for us. Then a few days after that, we received written confirmation and a map. It couldn’t have been simpler. We were asked to arrive by 8PM or make special arrangements. Our plane was delayed and so our timely arrival looked in jeopardy. We called the hotel and the night manager told us not to worry and explained where they would put our key. We called again when we landed in Hilo and the night manager said she would wait around for us. When we arrived at the hotel we had a nice 20 min discussion of things to see and do in Hawaii.

Our room was very nice and very clean. This is a small hotel built quite a number of years ago. So things aren’t modern [except for the free wifi , and the flat panel TV, and the new mattress. Despite its age, it was in very good condition. After staying in so many chains trying to outdo one another, it’s a pleasure to stay in a pleasant privately owned property.

The parking was convenient. The wifi worked splendidly. The bathroom was clean with a spacious shower. There was a kitchenette which was quite useful for keeping our lunches fresh. There was no AC in the room. Instead two fans moved the air. Our stay in May was pleasant. Those staying in summer months might want to inquire further. Each morning there is fresh coffee, hot water, and some bakery items. There is also plenty of fresh fruit picked locally. We had tree-ripened mango and bananas each morning.

We had read about manager John’s travel assistance and so did not plan our stay in Hilo very carefully. And so in the morning we waited in line for our turn while the previous guest was discussing their options. Soon we were seated across from John listening to his suggestions and watching him draw those suggestions on a map. Our session started with Questions from John about our likes and preferred level of activity and concluded with a plan that made for an exceptional day. Thank you John.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is our second stay at this wonderful small hotel & it certainly won't be our last visit,it is like staying with family unlike staying at the usual big hotels,John & all his staff really know how to look after their guests,nothing is too much trouble for them,the complimentary coffee,banana bread & fresh fruit each morning really is amazing.the location is great & the rooms are large & kept very clean as is the entire property,sitting on the lanai enjoying the lovely garden is lovely.
We can't wait to visit this gem on our next trip to the Big Island.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but upstairs is the best choice
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALASKAHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews