We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Dolphin Bay Hotel is located on a quiet, verdant street within easy walking distance to the centre of town. Rooms are tidy, clean and comfortable, but what makes this small hotel so outstanding is the beautiful landscaping and the warm, friendly service. Staff are uniformly welcoming and helpful. We love the free coffee, papayas, and fresh banana bread in the morning. John spent about an hour of his time helping us fax and print important paperwork from home. We really enjoyed our two day stay here, and would love to return.
Liane and Henry

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex across the road from the main hotel, and enjoyed the symphony of frogs at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    253
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
169
329
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Staying at the Dolphin Bay for the third time over several visits reminded me again that a well maintained older building with roomy accommodations at a reasonable price is often the best choice. Clean rooms on a quiet street within walking distance of downtown Hilo with a wonderful tropical garden behind the hotel makes a wonderful stay (unless Koke frog music is too much for you to bear). Reserve far in advance if you want a room (and get an "apartment" if you want space and luxury).

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

What a gem! The staff stayed up late to greet us when or flight was delayed, upgraded us to the premium huge room because people in our original room extended their stay, served fabulous banana bread, and had such beautiful landscaping. The little touches are what makes this budget motel such a surprise! Rainshower shower head, upscale TV, lots of tourist books and resources to orient yourself to the island, and friendly staff... So glad we stayed here!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hidntreshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I can see from the reviews that everyone else loves the Dolphin Bay also. We were two couples sharing a two-bedroom apartment. We enjoyed sitting out on the lanai, it was so nice having the kitchenette, and the fresh anthuriums in every room made our stay extra special! The grounds are so beautiful, and it's a convenient, quiet location. Loved the fresh fruit for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Staff was very friendly. In the morning you can get free coffee and all the banana's and papayas you can eat.
We had a very pleasant stay at Dolphin bay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanneRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeoye Falls, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Dolphin Bay. Very good price, very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful gardens. Coffee, papya and banana bread each morning; yum! Lava hike with David Ewing a must but make sure you go prepared. Dated and plain room but very clean. Nicely outfitted kitchenette. Noisy at night with the windows open listening to the sounds of Hawaii. Would definitely stay there again. To the staff - thank you for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Dolphin Bay is a great hotel in Hilo for folks like us who like to rent a car, plan our own itineraries, & eschew large foreign-owned resorts for small family operated hotels and B&Bs. Nestled along a creek in a peaceful neighborhood, this modest, long-established facility gives you the feeling you're in a tropical glade instead of just 2 or 3 blocks from city restaurants, museums & markets. Kitchenettes allowed us to buy local produce & seafood and have lovely meals in our room. The gardens behind the hotel are maintained wonderfully & provide a great place to relax on a bench with a mug of coffee or glass of wine. Rooms are very clean & provide all the basics for travelers. The staff is very friendly & a great source for local information. If you're into bright lights & dancing & partying at night, you'll do better elsewhere. If you're looking for a safe, clean, friendly, value-oriented base of operations for exploring the Hilo area, you may find Dolphin Bay as good a match for you needs as we did. Our second stay this year was as nice as our first last year, and we'll be returning again.

Room Tip: Be sure to keep your windows open at night -- the sounds of frogs & other night critters in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSS_BJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
59.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
59.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Property: Dolphin Bay
Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing