We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and the rooms were nice.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service and the rooms were nice.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in January 2012. We had a superior studio with a queen bed, a balcony, and a small kitchen. It was nice to have a bathroom with a high showerhead and good water pressure after a week at a condo that that fell short of our expectations in that area. Everything was clean and inviting. The grounds contain a large garden with walking paths and a stream. The staff was cheerful and helpful and gave us a map and then directions to the sites we should visit. They are happy to share their knowledge and give recommendations. We didn't miss the air condtioning because there were 2 fans and screens on the balcony and entry doors so there was good airflow. We had coffee, bananas, and baked goods provided by the hotel both mornings. All you have to do is take your mug down to the office to get your coffee. We noticed the noise of the frogs at night but it didn't bother us. We both enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Minn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    250
    49
    16
    5
See reviews for
166
326
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August 2012 and I have to say that this is without a doubt one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. Do not get me wrong the place could probably do with a facelift but the place was basic, clean and comfortable and very friendly, what more could you want?. From reception to the cleaners everyone was helpful and greeted you with a smile.

The frogs were not really an issue for any of our party as if you shut the windows this cuts out the noise of the frogs if you wanted to get a good nights sleep but believe me the frogs make a beautiful noise. Even with the windows closed the rooms were plenty cool enough due to the provided desk fans.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I would definately stay there again if and when I return to beautiful Hawaii.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed our stay at the Dolphin Bay Hotel. Sure it doesn't have airconditioning and it's a tad dated. We still loved it. Why? Firstly they have twin single beds which our two girls really appreciated after weeks of sleeping on uncomfortable sofa beds (even in expensive 5 star hotels). Secondly, the rooms are spacious with nice garden aspects. Thirdly, there's a full kitchen meaning you can self cater. We appreciate this flexibility. Fourthly the location is close to the old downtown area and there's a good Foodland supermarket to pick up provisions. Fifthly, it's in a quiet area so good for sleeping. We didn't have issues with the frogs. We found the noise they make interesting - nice to be close to nature. Sixthly, John and his team are amazing hosts. They made us feel so welcome. John was full of great ideas to maximise our enjoyment. His recommendation of a walk out to the active lava flows was absolutely spot on. Finally, the place is clean and beds are comfortable. Ticked more than enough boxes for us:)

Room Tip: For families the one bedroom apartments are great as they have two single beds instead of the dreade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Motel/Inn as we were heading in on a red eye from LA to Hilo. We were actually spending a week on the Kona side so we just needed a quick place to lay our heads. Since there was 5 of us we needed something inexpensive and that had enough beds to sleep us all. I choose this based on other reviews. It was an old Hotel/Motel/Inn and way past its prime. It was clean. There was nothing really bad about it except that it was extremely dated and old. The reviews make it better than it actually is. Yes, there was warm bread and coffee in the mornings and the hosts were kind. The location good to downtown Hilo. But aside from that, I can't really recommend this other than a place to lay your head for the night. The owners should take a clue from what other Motel/Inns are doing and gut and modernize the rooms and truly give it a more Inn appeal and market it as such. I would rather stay at a larger modern commercial Hotel for a nights rest than here.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedandlisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Dolphin Bay in November. The hotel was dated but very Hilo and comfortable. The room was clean and the staff was execptional. I was a bit hesitant to book with the hotel because it was dated w/ no ac and complaints of frogs. However, we enjoyed our stay so much we are working toward the next visit. Not having ac is not a problem and the frogs were soothing. The room had a kitchen which allowed us to enjoy breakfast in the room and pack foods to take with us for our day out. The staff was very knowledgable and made suggestions for all the places to visit. We were sad to leave the Dolphin Bay for the Kona side.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor made me feel a bit more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theweepingatlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Dolphin Bay in December with my husband and 2 teenage daughters. The staff at the Reception Desk were helpful and knowledgable. The hotel itself was a little dated/old but it was clean. It is a very average hotel so I was surprised when my husband told me he chose this place because it was rated No. 1 on TripAdvisor. There is no breakfast available at the hotel, only some coffee and coconut muffins ( which were very dry) at the reception area. It is probably equivalent to a 3 star hotel. There is a pancake restaurant not far from the hotel and also a shopping centre/mall which has a Macy's, Yogurtland, Starbucks and other stores there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diamonds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Clean and comfortable accommodation that is good value for money. The volcano is only a 45 minute drive away and is conveniently located close to other attractions such as Rainbow Falls. Our kids love searching for the Coqui frogs at night time. Would stay here again. The accommodation is nothing flash, but is a home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.6 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
59.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
59.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Property: Dolphin Bay
Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing