We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, close to everything, owner...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Travel657...
1 review
“Perfect location, close to everything, owner thought of everything”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is wonderful accommodation in Hilo. Close to town and all the action. The apartment is very nice and decorated in Balinese-Island style. There is a lovely view of tall tropical trees and a river at the back. The kitchen has everything a person might need while on the island. Highly recommend and would love to stay again sometime. Further, communication with the owner is excellent.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DLW49
Howards Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
“Awesome Rental”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This rental was awesome in every way! The location was so convenient to all the major highways to get all around the island. The apartment was beautifully decorated & so well equipped. Doug, the owner, was incredibly easy to work with. We loved it & highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLC_1203
Boise, idaho
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a wonderful visit to Hilo! Great location and beautiful condo.”
Reviewed December 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

First of all, wow. Doug's condo is beautifully appointed, comfortable for three adults, well-laid out. The screened in patio was a delight and the stream running behind created a constant ambience. Hilo itself is an easy walk (recommend using Wainuku Road), excellent dinner at Pineapples, lunch at Pesto -- exceptional Mexican food at Lucy's. We visited the farmers market on Tuesday and Saturday, friendly vendors and great produce. We also went to Akaka Falls, Onomea bay, Rainbow Falls, the Kaumana caves, all very easy drives. If you go to Volcanoes Park a must-stop is the Akatsuka orchid farm. Rich history and lovely people. Hated to leave Doug's place -- hope our condo in Kona can compare!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. My daughter is doing a great job making the condo a great place to stay. Hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2016
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
230jon
Oxnard, California
1 review
“We were as comfortable here as we are in our own home.”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Clean, comfortable, kitchen furnished with everything you need, close to town and restaurants. Owner a long time, reputable community member and very responsive to our needs. We were pleasantly surprised with a bowl of various fruits, Hawaiian water and the best cookies in Hawaii. Only one minor issue, the nightly chorus of crickets and coqui frogs took a little getting used to. However, definitely our first lodging choice for future trips.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, comfortable.
Liked least: Nightly chorus of crickets and frogs.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
We are very happy you enjoyed your visit. Being a Realtor for over 20 years I learned the value of repeat business. We want our guests 100% satisfied and know they will come back even years later. I once bought and sold the same house three times for my clients. We value long term relationships. Thanks and Aloha.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBell4948
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Loved our stay here. The apartment was definitely roomy enough for us to relax after sight seeing. We could listen to the creek and the frogs in the evenings.

The kitchen well appointed for cooking meals.

The bathroom set up is great as there is only 1 tub/shower with the master bath - but is set up with an adjoining 1/2 bath off the hallway. This way the sink/toilet is available when someone is taking a shower.

The assigned parking in the dedicated parking lot is a big plus!. One thing to note is there are two sets of stairs to get to the apartment which is something to keep in mind when toting luggage.

The property owner was great to work with. Called us on arrival to ensure everything was as expected and to see if we needed anything and made himself available for any questions we had.

Otherwise we loved our stay and would rent again if we are back in Hilo

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twofriend...
Kauai, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“clean, comfortable, well-located, well-appointed Hilo apartment”
Reviewed April 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect home from which to experience the activities in and around Hilo. The apartment has numerous artistic touches, making it enjoyable to be there. Kitchen, bedrooms, and bathrooms were clean and more than adequate, and the view is green and lush. The owners were exceptionally helpful. The location is a 5 minute drive from most Hilo destinations.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing