We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great green papaya salad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine

New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine
Ranked #24 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Missoula, MT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great green papaya salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

One salad is big enough for a meal for two, if you're not starving. The service was quick and the food excellent. We also enjoyed the green bean dish. Both dishes were large.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    10
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Amazing cocunut soup. Huuuuge bowl. Get it with rice and it is a full entree. I order Tom Kha Guy soup everywhere and this is the best I ever had. Pad Thai was good too

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarcVanBaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Service-someone took our order, and I don't think we ever saw them again. Had to ask for anything extra we wanted by stopping someone as they went by (as opposed to someone checking on us), the food came out as it was ready (so my wife had her food half done before I got mine), not a big deal for us, but if this is your service standard, let people know. Had to go up to get our bill.

Food- pad thai tasted like pad thai flavoured ketchup, we ordered mild and medium, generally we expect it not to be too hot, but at least to have flavour. I did like the chopped vegetable to add to the pad thai, giving it a nice crunch.
The calamari was terrible with a heavy tempura batter on it.

Thai food isn't really that hard, a decent pad thai sauce is a must.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theparlour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a fantastic meal here with friends and family. The menu has lots of variety for every taste. Most dishes have a choice of vegetarian, beef, chicken or seafood. Great food, great service what more can you ask for.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best romantic Thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This restaurant is really a lovely place to go; it is next to a small park, there is lots of parking, and the restaurant is nicely decorated. Both the food and service were excellent and the prices were extremely reasonable. The portions were large and everything tasted so fresh and good. We got Pad Thai and Pumpkin curry, extremely delicious. The background music and atmosphere of the restaurant were pleasant. I love Thai food and this is a great Thai restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank motherof8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to New Chiang Mai Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing