We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food”

Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine
Ranked #11 of 244 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Amazing Thai food here. It's a smaller establishment, and we got there when it was totally full. We waited for about 15 minutes, and were glad we did. The service was a little slow, but this had to do with trying to get everyone seated. If I go back, I won't mind waiting again because the food was so good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ten_mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    87
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“It's good, kinda...”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

They take reservations, good, the guy that greatest our party at the door was our waiter as well as the other 5 tables.

I'm glad they are busy, they should be, they make good food, but he is getting killed by the workload ... When the lady came out of the kitchen about halfway through our meal he was able to catch up, he needs her to help.

Food was good, not bad, not amazing, but go and you'll be happy you did... With improved service it could be really good

They do need a better location, parking lot is not next to entrance

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coug8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Saw this place as we were driving to our hotel. TA gave it good ratings for a reason. Pad Thai was awesome and the spring rolls were delicious. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eckmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keaau
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“AWESOME PAPAYA SALAD”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Super thai food a must for the thai food lover. Paypaya salad is fresh and spicy to your taste. thai ice tea and coffee sooo gooood

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank food000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai Food!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place was absolutely fantastic. The Pad Thai was unbelievable, and the curry was very good as well. Other reviewers were right to suggest ordering one level of spiciness below that to which you are accustomed. BYOB is welcome and overall prices are extremely reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing