We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME PAPAYA SALAD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine

Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
keaau
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“AWESOME PAPAYA SALAD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Super thai food a must for the thai food lover. Paypaya salad is fresh and spicy to your taste. thai ice tea and coffee sooo gooood

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank food000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    85
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place was absolutely fantastic. The Pad Thai was unbelievable, and the curry was very good as well. Other reviewers were right to suggest ordering one level of spiciness below that to which you are accustomed. BYOB is welcome and overall prices are extremely reasonable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Went here with the family when we stopped for a night in Hilo on route to see the volcano. It was walking distance from our hotel and it reviewed well on trip advisor so we went.for it. We were very happy with the food. Order all the dishes with medium spice. It as the right choice for us. Good heat but could still taste the food. All the dishes we very tasty and authentic. Good portion sizes and great service. Place is smaller and only had one younger server. He was working very hard to accommodate all of the people's needs at once. All In all great this food.

Helpful?
Thank kos_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hidden jem! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner and were very glad that the restaurant was a personal recommendation from a friend. The place itself is a little tucked away and we actually missed it the first drive by. Given we were in what appeared to be more of an industrial area, we almost turned around and went back the way we came... Almost. And boy were we glad we persevered. Sombat's has very fresh ingredients, delicious food, and very reasonable prices. We had the Tom yum soup, pad kee mow, and the kang ka-ree curry. They were all very delicious and flavorful. The portions were generous and we packed the left overs that was enough for another meal. We arrived right after they opened for dinner and the place was packed quite quickly. I would definitely recommend Sombat's to all my friends that visit the big island.

Helpful?
Thank Yan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hard to access but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Outstanding Thai food but believe them when they say "Thai hot" and go mild if you're at all in doubt. Can BYOB if you want alcohol.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimzTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing