We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Medium" spicy is really "hot" spicy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine

Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine
Ranked #10 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“"Medium" spicy is really "hot" spicy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We read so many good reviews so gave it a try. Food is good but they don't warn you that
"Medium" heat is really "hot". We eat food that is typically fairly spicy (raw serrano peppers etc.) - so we can usually handle "hot" food on menus at other restaurants. Our kids love Thai food so we ordered a lot of food with Medium spice but it was so hot for us that we ended up ordering another dish with minimum spice for the kids. We were disappointed that server did not give us a heads up. give some options or adjust the bill for the extra dish we had to order like most restaurants do. (Note: we did not ask for them to adjust the bill). I guess, given that this is a small restaurant, they did want to lose the cost of the dish and we did not push it. We would go back, but will be careful!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    85
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little hard to but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We love Thai food and when hungry in Hilo found the good reviews for Sombats on Trip Advisor. Trip advisor was right again. We had satay and pad Thai as we were hungry and not adventurous. We will be back as you can walk in and take ready made food to go for day trips. Great IDEA!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otwoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Drive around the back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

It's in a rather nondescript 2 story building, which you need to enter from the side road, but once you are inside it's rather delightful. The food was excellent and plentiful. Definately recommend it.

Helpful?
1 Thank fxsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good, nothing amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall, our experience at Sombat's was pretty good, though the service was very slow.

Chicken satay appetizer was nice. The chicken was juicy, though the sauce left a little to be desired.

The red curry with shrimp was very tasty. Nice and spicy (medium) and with really good flavor.

The pad see ew and the pad thai were very standard fare, though executed well.

The fried rice was fried rice.

Everything was pleasantly tasty, though nothing was mind-blowingly awesome. A solid 4 stars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
181 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“excellent and distinctively fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Sombats offers many familiar items on Thai menus but the execution is at a new level. I went there for lunch. I selected the larb and my friend had soup both of which had distinctive herbs and a fresh taste. I am anxious to return and try our some other dishes.
The ambience is informal and the restaurant is quite small but the service was warm and attentive. We had the bananas in wonton skins for dessert but my friend said to try to tapioca next time as it is stellar. I highly recommend this hard to find "hole in the wall" on Route 11 just a half block south of Ken's. Parking is ample, around back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HLW648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Sombat's Fresh Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing