We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Coconut Grill

Coconut Grill
Ranked #34 of 238 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stopped here for breakfast two out of the four days we were in Hilo. Good food, good value, and the coffee was fresh. :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jag_in_the_box
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    104
    65
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Easter Day Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Food was awesome! The only thing I did not like, was there was no name tags for the different foods. I would think it would be a positive thing for the restaurant, as it would cut down on waste.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Puueo_Lineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to have late lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant at around 3pm and late lunch was still on offer. I believe that late lunch menu is different from proper lunch but there are still good variety of food to pick from. Happy hour with $3 beer is also offered for late lunch. Would recommend for a light meal with alcohol.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cozy0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
259 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was a little nervous about the food quality...as the restaurant did not seem to be that updated. I was more than pleasantly surprised! We shared a eye rib steak, laulau, and caeser salad. All are delicious and tasty. The waiter was friendly and attentive.
Mahalo!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie_in_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Avoid 11:00-11:30 am”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The kitchen makes a change from breakfast to lunch at 11:00. Unknown to us, we entered right at 11:00 and even though told that the sandwich and the soup of the day was not yet determined, there was ample variety to order from the menu. We sat there with our water glasses until 11:30. The waitress did not even serve us our juice during that time period. Although trying to be relaxed and enjoy the view, we were somewhat discouraged by the lack of communication. Once our sandwiches arrived at 11:40, we found them tasty and ample, but we were disheartened about the wait. We had avoided the restaurant, even though we had driven by it daily, because parking appears a problem. When we were lucky enough to find a parking spot, we were disheartened by a wait we were not warned about. Our experience of waiting without communication was the only one we encountered our 12 days on The Big Island.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Grill also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Coconut Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing