We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easy access when at the Hilo Seaside Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Grill

Coconut Grill
Ranked #39 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mad River, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easy access when at the Hilo Seaside Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This resturant is located at the Hilo Seaside Hotel. The atmosphere is quiet and the staff very nice. Some meals are a little pricey, but most of the meals in Hawaii seem to be. The food was excellent, even the breakfast voucher items from the hotel. Will visit again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KLK7331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    102
    64
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naalehu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was a little hesitant to eat here after reading the mixed reviews, but our friends had been many times and enjoyed it every time. The service was excellent; our waitress was there at just the right frequency (not too much and not too little). The food was excellent too, although the portions were a bit small. I had the special, which included ono, shrimp scampi, and a crab cake, and the sauces were excellent. I was completely filled up, but someone with a larger appetite would have been disappointed. Especially since the price was pretty high. We had a nice table by the window with a lovely view. I would definitely go back again. Don't be put off by the outside appearance.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank naalehuretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“French Toast to die for!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stopped in for breakfast one morning and wish we'd had more time for another meal there!! The service was excellent, the establishment was clean and the food was fresh and delicious!! There were three of us and we all wanted the French Toast AND an Omelet but couldn't decide which.. :D
The waitress suggested we split an order of French Toast since none of us could make up our minds. Needless to say that was the perfect suggestion! All of us we very pleased with our Omelets and the French Toast is some of the best outside of a little establishment in Carmel Ca. that I have ever had the pleasure of eating. ( and I am quite the french toast connoisseur!) If you find yourself in the Hilo area (and I certainly hope you do -wonderful place to visit) Don't miss breakfast at this delightful little restaurant !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snake59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
418 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“very tardy breakfast service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

we had breakfast vouchers for 3 days from hilo seaside hotel and waled in at 7 am on the 1st day...the staff was just walking in and told us to wait... meanwhile... other guests came in and the girls at their tables were taking thri orders and feeding into the computer. our waitress came to the table a good 10 minutes later, we asked for their healthy chioce... without the porridge and coffee as we were in a hurry to keep our 9 am appointment at waipio valley.we were served one tablespoon of yogurt and a small glass of juice , one small slice of banana bread and a half of a tiny papaya after some 20 minutes… we did not use our vouchers again…a buffet would have been easier on us... if we had had a decent service, we might have tried them again for dinner but it was such a bad impression we did not go back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at this restaurant and all four had good food at reasonable prices. The prime rib was cut it with a fork tender and the Coconut Shrimp were the largest shrimp that I have ever eaten. We will be back next time in Hilo.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GkfromWisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Grill also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Coconut Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing