We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with your Aunty and Uncle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holmes Sweet Home B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holmes Sweet Home B&B
Save
You added Holmes Sweet Home B&B to your Saves list
107 Koula St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-1625   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
Kamuela
1 review
“Like staying with your Aunty and Uncle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were so happy to have found Holmes' Sweet Home! It was a very inviting space and we felt right at home! We stayed in the Blue Ginger sweet which was comfortable and spacious. We really enjoyed our breakfast and were charmed that they brought out a muffin with a candle on top for my husband's birthday.

We arrived alter than expected and were able to see three sites that were new to us within 45 minutes, including The Boiling Pot and Kaumana Caves (Mosquitos to da max).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    25
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
97
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

During our 2 night stay, my wife and I enjoyed the stay. The room was clean and the breakfast was perfect. We were treated like family, and the Holmes gave us advice of what to see and do, as well as places to eat in Hilo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randrews30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are looking for the latest chic experience, Holmes Sweet Home is not for you. If you are looking for a comfortable home away from home, where your hosts who treat you like family, this bed and breakfast is where you want to spend a night, or two, or six, as we did. As the sign read, "you come as our guests but leave as our friends". That is exactly what we experienced. Charlotte and John would join us after breakfast each day. We would share our Hilo experiences and chat about anything that came to mind. These are two of the nicest persons I have ever met. The location is perfect with Volcano National Park, the Hilo Botanical Gardens and Mauna Kea all within comfortable driving distance. Mike and Sally Harris

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this charming place. John and Charlotte are perfect hosts and we feel to stay at friends. The house in a dead end road has an wonderful view towards Hilo downtown and the room is comfortable and overall clean. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast with fresh baked muffins and also the talks with Charlotte and John very much. It was a perfect base for our exiting days in the area of Hilo, in the volcano park, on Mauna Loa and Mauna Kea and at the waterfalls as well. If possible we will come again and recommend this B&B to everyone who want to experience perfect hospitality.

Aloha is reality

Peter & Katharina

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpeter1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I don't usually gush about places I've stayed at but I really must say we loved staying with John and Charlotte for 3 days at Holmes Sweet Home in Hilo. They were such kind, caring hosts and really did make us feel like we were staying with family. We slept in the Blue Ginger suite, which suited all our needs and was very clean. The bathroom was huge! We could use the microwave just outside the room and breakfast was freshly baked goods and fruit salad as well as chatting with the hosts - they really took interest in our travels and plans. Beautiful colourful flowers outside in the courtyard, too! We could mark our home country with a pin on a huge world map in the breakfast room where there were already 100+ pins from all over the world. The breakfast room with the microwave is also usable during the evening and we had some of our meals there. The room price was more than reasonable - around $90 as I recall, which was the best value by far of any of our Hawaii lodgings.

The location is great for Hilo - in a better part of town (residential neighbourhood) at a slight elevation, which made it fresher at night. It was a good point of access for our Mauna Kea adventure and if you wanted you could also drive to Volcanoes national park or the east coast.

Our flight got rescheduled to late in the evening when we were leaving and Charlotte & John kindly allowed us to use our room until later in the afternoon because there wasn't a booking on the day after us - that was so nice after a day of sightseeing and a 20hr flight ahead! Couldn't have had a better end to our trip - thank you so much Charlotte and John for your hospitality!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UK_Traveller3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The wife and I recently stayed here for four nights. Our Hosts (John and Charlotte) were fantastic. I'd feel extremely comfortable recommending this B&B to any of my family or closest friends as a 'gem of a place' to stay.

You can trust the reviews that everyone else has contributed to this B&B!!!!!

If the opportunity ever presented itself again we'd return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Their community/kitchen room is bright and cheerful place to relax, read up on whats going on or che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staying at this B&B felt like staying at your grandmothers house. The hosts were warm and welcoming. The room was not fancy but instead very simple and clean. There was no TV in the room , but the free wi-fi made up up it.
The breakfast was delicious. We loved their friendly cat named A nue nue (rainbow).
Would recommend staying here and my husband and I enjoyed our two night here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelangel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
2.6 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
5.7 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
2.6 mi away
Kama'aina Inn
Kama'aina Inn
#8 of 18 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmes Sweet Home B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmes Sweet Home B&B

Property: Holmes Sweet Home B&B
Address: 107 Koula St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Holmes Sweet Home B&B Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing