We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay Cafe

Hilo Bay Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Hilo Bay Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Fusion, Sushi, Pacific Rim, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not what you expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

You would not expect Hilo Bay Cafe to be spectacular, seeing that it is in the WalMart plaza. It's tiny..reservations are needed. If you don't get there right at opening (11:30), forget it, you won't get in, The eggplant appitizer is great. Lucky for me, they have no trouble accomodating food allergies. the staff is friendly, the service is quick, and they do not rush you out, even if there is a line of people waiting.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sniffer0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    262
    94
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and i stopped in for lunch and were not disappointed. She had a salad and I had a cheeseburger. Both were fresh and delicious, and the burger was perfectly cooked as ordered. Service was excellent and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clc043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What's the fuss?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We read the reviews online and thought the place was going to be a good experience. Wrong! The restaurant is in a strip mall near a Walmart. Not a problem with Walmart shoppers, but I find a nice restaurant like this is stated to be in a silly place.
I wasn't impressed with the inside decorations and I thought the food was average at best. The selection of foods was okay, but I wouldn't suggest it to my friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LillyofthevalleyTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“its good but the raves on here arent worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff is friendly and the food was fresh. However I wouldnt say that it was delicious or amazing. Maybe for what you can find in a small town like HIlo this is a five star restaurant but for someone who has travelled globally I have to say that it is an ok restaurant. It is rare to find a place that gives you enough food, charges you the right price and provides the culinary delight on top of it. I think that the portions we got were small. I left the restaurant hungry after ordering the egg plant. My mother got the french onion soup which was more like I cup than a bowl and there were two giant pieces of bread in the soup. French onion soup is supposed to have croutons in it not big pieces of bread. It left her hungry too. My dad had the steak and it looked good and the portion seemed decent on that one. So please folks lets not go overboard on amazing, hidden gem and all that when this is a an ok restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank natozlato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Hilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stopped for dinner about 6:00 with no reservation and got the last table before the rush! Very friendly service and speedy too. Everything we ordered was delicious the poke,salads and special egg plant. The best food we had in Hilo

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dogloverducy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Bay Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing