We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Food in a strange location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilo Bay Cafe

Hilo Bay Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Hilo Bay Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Fusion, Sushi, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Food in a strange location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were recommeded to this place by the girls at our hotel and were not disappointed the food is excellent, The problem seems to be parking which is a bit difficult and its always very busy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jilloutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    266
    97
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Grass Fed Beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After visiting the Volcanoes National Park, we stopped in Hilo for a late lunch. We had eaten at this restaurant a few years ago. It is located in the largest shopping area in Hilo on Hwy. 11 between Office Max and Walmart next to a food court. Parking is a nightmare and may require several passes thru the lot to find a spot. We hit the somewhat abbreviated afternoon menu available from 2:30 - 5:00 pm. The restaurant was fairly full even at 2:30 pm. I ordered the Blue Bay Burger for $12, which is a local grass fed beef burger and gorgonzola cheese. I ordered Asian Slaw as an accompaniment. The beef, though ordered medium rare, was rare but ok with me. It was very good, but I found the amount of gorgonzola overwhelming, so I removed a lot of it. The Asian Slaw was very good also, especially the dressing. Our waitress was professional, sociable and efficient.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ewalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Is not the best”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Service was horrible, lots of running around and not paying attention to customers, a couple came in after us wanting a table, none were available, so they settled on the bar. Other customers told them that the two open seats were taken by their friends who will be here in 20 minutes, the waitress tried to make the incoming couple go out side and wait on the bench. BTW there were tables open.
False advertising on the organic thing, it's more of a Sysco and Costco place. They try to be fancy, which will fool some people, the place is smoke and mirrors.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irljr_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, would have been better if we drank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Small, but elegant restaurant. Made the mistake of stopping in before 5 pm to the limited food menu. One side food, the other side drinks. Looks like a great variety of alcoholic drinks. Ordered fish and chips and barbecue ribs in the party. It was good, good portions, but not great. The service was top notch, quick and attentive, and understanding when we explained we were in a hurry. I am told the after 5 menu is much better with many more food choices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Garvin at Goodies B+B recommended we try this restraunt for dinner.We didn't make reservations, and should have, but they got us seated with little wait. The service was prompt, the staff pleasant and the food remarkable.I had the ono , chef recommended it medium rare and what a delight.The kids said make sure to get the fries and truffle dip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Bay Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing