We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK stop if you are in the area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilo Farmers Market

Hilo Farmers Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.29*
and up
Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka...
Ranked #2 of 29 Shopping in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh
Level Contributor
312 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“An OK stop if you are in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Smaller than I thought it would be. I could see if you were local that this would be a great place to buy your produce - less expensive than the grocery store. Most other items were the typical tourist souvenir type of things.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    200
    72
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Linthicum Heights
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Variety”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

It was a nice variety of food and local art. We were able to pick up great gifts for our family and friends. You have to make sure that some things are made in Hawaii not designed in Hawaii.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Must visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

One thing we noticed about grocery shopping on the Big Island is that the prices are higher, probably due to the shipping costs. One way to keep your food bills down is to get your fruit and vegetables from the farmers' market. Which is conveniently open from morning to after lunch on Wed and Sat. You can also get cooked food like pad thai, vegetable rolls, sushi, even freshly baked bread, coffee, honey. Across the intersection from the food are the non-food tents where you can browse for clothes, accessories, even a back or shoulder massage. Really worth your while. Some of the products are beautifully hand-made. Parking is not an issue. There is a park nearby with lots of carpark space apart from the street parking. After visiting the market, we walked along the streets of downtown Hilo, had lunch at a cafe, looked at books, candy, kitchen stuff and would have gone in to look at the Pacific Tsunami museum if we did not have to rush back with lunch for our kids who were having their own lazy morning at our rental house.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SpringZephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
556 reviews
278 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Exciting, Fun and Tasty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We visited the Hilo Farmers Market regularly during our month-long stay on the Big Island. It is a wonderful place to shop for fresh produce at great prices. And by great, I mean 6 Papaya for $1; huge pineapples for $3; giant avocado for $1; and MUST-TRY, fresh, home-made juices for $2. While fun, friendly and upbeat every day of the week, Wed and Sat are truly enjoyable. Check it out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“exotic fruit and veggies in most stall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

6 hawaiian papaya for $2 is unheard of here in the US...bought "Fiddlehead" fern family for $2 a bunch and sauteed it in olive oil & garlic and we're all in heaven when we ate it with our grilled chicken...also I tasted for the first time a fruit called "puha" which is sweet and citrusy...very very good...this is the place to buy hawaiin souvienir t-shirts and trinkets...everyone we encountered was so friendly and ready to tell you about their fresh produce...however we didn't find anyone selling coconut the day we were there...fresh lilikoi juice was what we needed after almost a full day at the market...we went back to our condo rental full of goods and we spent less than $50 including lunch...what a deal

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilo Farmers Market also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing