We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a restful stay...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 18 Hilo B&B and Inns
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot for a restful stay...”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our time tremendously. The B&B is quite nice, and very handy to the beach and to Hilo, but surrounded by rainforest so you don't have a sense of being close to anything but nature. Claudia was very friendly and helpful, and the room quite comfy. We spent some time at Volcanoes National Park, and the drive to and from was no problem. I'd certainly consider staying there again on a future visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Grant007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
49
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this B&B on our travels around the Big Island. It was a nice, quiet location surrounded by gardens and jungle making a very restful spot. Right across the the sprawling back yard jungle is a lovely beach and a perfect place to walk in the am. The room was nice and very clean and had a small fridge. Claudia made a great breakfast everyday and made suggestions for daily activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Loriejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this nice B&B and really enjoyed it. The room was quite big, with garden access. Room and bath are really clean. And we liked the nice decoration (tiles) of the bathroom!
The owner was very friendly and helpful with all kind of advises. And the breakfast she prepared was totally yummy and delicious. We really felt welcome as "friends"!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skuld_Kersten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had just been camping for a few days and were looking for a place to relax for the afternoon/evening and found this place. It is located in a very quiet spot in a jungle like surrounding with a small lagoon and within walking distance to the ocean. There is a place on the property that you can hang out and relax next to the lagoon on the way to the ocean or just hang with a glass of wine. The breakfast/community area inside is also very comfortable. We stayed in the back room which had a very nice bed. The frogs in the evening at this place made you think you were sleeping in a jungle, an orchestra of frogs of all different sounds. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, anything you could possibly need and no shortage. If we ever come back to Hilo we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Of the 3 rooms available we had the larger back room. It was awesome. We were the only ones at the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen_Jacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay on the Big Island. Half of the time we stayed in Hilo at the Beach with Friends. This B & B was perfect for my type of traveling. Accommodations were comfortable and secure. We always had a delicious breakfast and conversation with Claudia in the morning and then set out on a daily adventure. The rooms have small refrigerators so I was able to keep cold beer in the room for after returning from the adventure. Although I didn't hang out at the house that much, it would be great for that purpose also. I intend to stay here again the next time I come to HIlo.

Room Tip: If you keep the windows closed and the fan turned on at night the frogs are not too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, HI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

At the beach with friends is an amazing place to stay. If you have been to the big island you know that many places are a little older and run down. Claudia (The owner) keeps the place immaculate.
The bed and breakfast is close to the airport, about 10 or 15 minutes to the terminal, however we did not hear any jet noise. It is also located across from a beautiful black sand beach, Claudia can tell you the best place to snorkel. While the b and b is located about a 5 minute drive from restaurants and shopping, it has a laid back tropical setting on a one one acre lot. The lush tropical setting does mean you will have to listen to the sounds of nature when the sun goes down, mainly frog's, we felt that the noises were relaxing though.
The breakfast is a five star review in itself! It usually started with a fruit course. Claudia would then bring out some yogurt, granola, and homemade muffins. She would then bring out a egg dish. The egg dish varied by day but the best was the Spanish omelet. After she was done getting everything out Claudia would sit down for morning conversation. She would give us tips on things and it was a nice touch.
I want to touch on Claudia in this review. She is awesome! She is not a typical, has some spunk and a lot of life experience. SHE SAVED OUR VACATION TWICE!! The first time we had made a reservation at one of the top rated BB on this site. We where stood up at the last minute. So we trotted through hilo looking for a decent place to stay. Every place we checked was either full or a dump. I then googled nice place to stay hilo, up popped at the beach with friends. I called and asked to see the place. Claudia met me with 25 minutes notice and showed me an immaculate room. (On a side note it did not have AC but we were never hot with fans only). The second time was after we left. I got a call from her saying the cleaning lady found my tablet in my room still. I was immediately worried as our plane left in 45 minutes. Claudia zipped over to the airport with it and even refused a tip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pitt7717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It's location - next to 7 natural beaches & it's own lush tropical setting make this a gem! Claudia, the gracious owner, has the details nicely attended to: snorkel gear, beach towels, umbrellas etc. Rooms are large w/ comforable, kingsized beds, each has a great view of the natural setting & a lovely large clean bathroom attached. The daily fresh breakfasts are so good! Wonderful. Stayed 10 days. Does require car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWintthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
3.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
535 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
663 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
7.8 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

Property: At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
Address: 369 Nene St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4942
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest wing on a salt water lagoon across from Hilo's favorite swimming beaches. Luxury ocean view accommodations for $160-$180 king beds, ensuite baths, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, common sitting room/lounge area, games, books, & hot buffet breakfast. Small refrigerators in room and tea service available in common room. Triple room available. Beach towels, folding chairs,coolers flashlights and umbrellas on hand. $10/night discount off base price for five nights or more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
At The Beach With Friends Bed And Breakfast
At The Beach With Friends Hotel Hilo
At The Beach With Friends Bed & Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing