We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Berkeley Coffee shop in slippahs :)”
Review of Bears Coffee

Bears Coffee
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Hilo
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a Berkeley Coffee shop in slippahs :)”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Very laid back low key- Earthy-Urban with a upper graduate degree vibe- The bagels rock!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    39
    13
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“onolicious”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

His homemade apple turnovers and muffins are soooo good! Have not tried the huge brownie yet but next trip I will!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keolaloa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This place refuses to wait on you. You can sit outside all day and they will ignore you. It's a local hangout. They act like they don't want your business. High prices.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Waffles...and thats pretty much it for breakfast”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Waffles and eggs cooked with their espresso maker steamer?
For the price charged, I don't think their waffles are special. I much prefer spending $6 at Kens to eat a tastier breakfast. The main pro is the that they have espresso...that said, its still not my favorite place to go for coffee. Overall, unremarkable. After our last visit, my husband and I decided it was not really worth returning again.

Helpful?
Thank arobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

good coffee and other food stuffs but nothing you can't find in 50 other places just like it.

Helpful?
Thank tropicalsnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bears Coffee also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Bears Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing