We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going again!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Kenichi

Restaurant Kenichi
Ranked #46 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Curry ramen with cheese!! Superb!! Was kinda skeptical about that choice but after trying it, I'll be back for more!! Great service. Wanna try it again

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant/diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Hilo does not seem to have lots of eating places so we were pleased to find this restaurant. It is packed with locals and you often have to wait outside.That being said the wait is not too long and the greeter and others in the queue are very friendly.
The restaurant parking area is small but after 7pm you can park in the next door shopping mall car park.Decor et cetera is functional
Its not a Japanese restaurant but rather diner style food with a Japanese bias.Service is fast and friendly.Portions are substantial and hot.We ate there 4 nights and were not disappointed any night. We were unsure of some of the menu items and the staff helped us discreetly showing us what others had ordered.
Its a little way out so two nights we went straight there after being out for the day.
So you eat good value substantial meals served by friendly people to a local clientele. As a tourist I couldnt ask for more

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HLR39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
205 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“food needs work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I love Japanese food, and had high hopes when this place opened. had to try the talked about tonkatsu, which was very fatty, didn't eat much. the ramen is the best thing on the menu so far. don't try the fried rice, it's made with a fish sauce and it tasted terrible, not like Japanese fried rice. Service was poor too.

Helpful?
Thank kdooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Popular Place to Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This restaurant just recently opened and its been packed since. I was referred by the owner of my nail salon and it had a "following" even before it opened! 1st time couldn't find parking (so busy); 2nd time the wait was at least 25 minutes (passed); 3rd time we decided to wait it out and ate our 1st meal there. (Recommend getting there by 5 p.m. for dinner seating else you'll have a wait. If 5 or more in your party, highly recommend placing a reservation.)

The greeter was personable, attentive and highly customer service oriented. The wait staff except one was excellent & even the owner Michael constantly walks around greeting customers and clearing the tables. This is the way a home-style restaurant should be run!!! Saw lots of neighbors, a relative & even found out our niece's son works there part-time (what a surprise).

The food was good with a variety of Japanese, Korean and American faire. They kept the secret sauce recipes of the former owners (Mr. Kay's Lunch Shop) so it was nice to have some of the regular items on the menu (like their Korean fried chicken, BBQ beef 'n pork, etc.). The grade of meats served is a higher quality so that's a plus.

So far we've had 2 types of ramen noodles, spicy BBQ pork, chicken and beef, sliced steak and tonkatsu. We'll be back to try out more eats.!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
1 review
“Sad to say”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Not very nice inside. Tables and chairs were shabby. Even the cups and silverware were bottom of the line. Service was not bad, but could not make up for the sorry room. The food was less than ordinary. We were expecting something nice and could have done better at a fast food joint. It's a shame as Hilo desperately needs nice places to eat. Made me want to cry. Won't go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kenichi also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Restaurant Kenichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing