We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely drive not far from downtown Hilo”

Pepeekeo Scenic Drive
Ranked #11 of 81 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Mt Eliza, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Lovely drive not far from downtown Hilo”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were filling in time between a stiflingly hot visit to the Saturday market and a lunch reservation at Hilo Bay Cafe. With a bit over an hour to kill, we thought we would do the 4-mile scenic drive easily in that time. It's a lovely drive with cool gullies, beautiful water views and a tropical botanical garden but an hour wasn't enough time and, unfortunately, we had to rush it. Pity. We should have allowed longer. Also, I hadn't realised that you can walk down to Onomea Bay from this road. It looked deserted and rather beautiful. You could probably spend a morning here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gwegwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    61
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The drive was really beautiful! So tropical and there were waterfalls and streams visable from the road as well. The botanical gardens located on this road it worth a visit too!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Yessica8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenic drive”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

So beautiful. Take advantage of the pull outs and stop so you can see more. We stopped and I could see the whales but I needed a long zoom camera to get a good photo. Oh well maybe next visit. Make sure you stop at the What's Shaken and have a smoothie. So good. My husband had the banana Rama for $7.00 made fresh and you can watch them make it. Yumm

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank twinkeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, Iowa
Level Contributor
220 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Scenic drive worth taking”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Pretty four mile scenic drive. Very green and lovely, even in the rain. There was a marathon going on the day we drove through. Lovely view of the coast and vegetation growing in the Hilo area. I recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joaniemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilbert, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Well worth the it of extra time”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful drive - take slowly. Saw some people swimming in the streams pool just under the bridge. Rainforest tunnels with very dense vegetation. Tropical botanical gardens on this rout. What's Shaking food stand at the north end makes great smoothies

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaMi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepeekeo Scenic Drive also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pepeekeo Scenic Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing