We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Hilo Shore Excursion: Active Volcano, Lava Tube, Waterfall and Gardens
93

Book in advance
from
$167.54
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Mauka Makai Adventures
from $167.54
More Info
from $167.54
More Info
from $138.90
More Info
from $167.54
More Info
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
575
24
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
575
24
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews volcano tour lava tube josh kona island hawaii company ship insight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 601 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2018

Took early 5:00 flight from Honolulu. took cab from airport to Ken’s, a great local breakfast spot. Walked from Kens to coconut island for a quick look then took cab back to airport for our tour pickup. Tour was great and provided lots of information both local knowledge as well as volcano stuff. Tour guide Josh let us set the pace and we never felt rushed. Our weather wasn’t great but Josh adjusted the tour to give us the best experience possible considering conditions. Waiting at the Hilo airport to depart was comfortable as well as the waiting area was filled with comfortable couches and chairs unlike any I have experienced in an airport.

Date of experience: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 3, 2018

Fabulous tour with Josh. We are an older couple and Josh was great about letting us pace ourselves. He is a native Hawaiian and has a wealth of knowledge about all the sites we visited. You can’t go wrong booking this amazing tour.

Date of experience: February 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank debrawjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 2, 2018

Back around Dec 1 2017, my wife and I reserved the Shore Excursion tour and we were very happy from start to finish.. By chance we selected a time and day that nobody else did, so we received a private tour. Josh contacted us the night before and then met us at the Hilo airport.. Everything was right on time and we found Josh to be an informative and pleasant person. He was very careful to make sure that we saw everything we wanted to see but never rushed us. He kept the hike and conversation on a nice pace. Our lunch was prepared by locals and it was fresh and delicious. We really felt like we got to know Josh and the countryside. Having a local’s perspective was a plus. This day was a highlight of our trip. Thanks Josh! Sorry it took me so long to write the review. Mahalo
Joe and Terri F

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 18, 2018

I would recommend Mauka Makai Adventures to anyone visiting Hilo and wanting to see the sights It included waterfalls, macadamia orchards, orchids, and volcanos. What more could you want?.

Date of experience: November 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 17, 2018

We loved our tour with Jill in Hilo! We were on a cruise ship and only had one day to see Hilo and I'm so glad we chose this excursion. It was like a sample tour of this side of the island. The volcanoes national park is breathtaking! It's the thing to do in Hilo. There was tour that was leaving from the boat that had over 100 people on it. We had a small intimate group which was so lovely. Jill provided lots of information and told wonderful stories. We spent a large amount of our time there. On this tour we also went to an orchid farm for lunch, rainbow falls, a chocolate factory and a black sand beach with turtles. It was a perfect day!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Littlevness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews