We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hilo
Open today: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mauka Makai Adventures
from $167.54
More Info
from $167.54
More Info
from $122.86
More Info
from $375.98
More Info
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
531
21
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
531
21
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the big island private tour national park great tour small group his knowledge comfortable van volcano adventure orchid farm rainbow falls small van cruise ship lava tube black sand beach chocolate factory native hawaiian sea turtles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 554 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Josh really knows his way around the island and planned a great day out for us. We are keen hikers and Josh made the best use of our limited time

Date of experience: January 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank thefifoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our full day tour with Jill on 19 Jan 2017. Jill provided wonderful insights into the culture, history and geology of Hawaii and our visit to the Volcanoes National Park was a highlight. We have already recommended Mauka Makai Adventures to our family and friends.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank BJR-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2017

Josh was able to answer all our questions on any subject, we knew what we were doing at all stages of the tour. It was the best and most personal tour I've ever been on. With special mention to the sandwiches, omigod they were great; and to Josh's ability to entertain my two teenage sons when their parents where flagging on the walk. We will happily send all our friends with Mauka Makai:)

Date of experience: January 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank nickhI1092UM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Some weeks ago we took the Lava Tour with and it was fantastic! We started walking before dawn and the experience of watching how the lava currents glow in the dark were out of this world. Later we went to the place where it falls directly into the ocean and it was equally impressive. Josh is a great and experienced guide and he skilfully lead us through the dried lava that made the tour a unique experience.

Totally recommended!

Date of experience: November 2016
1  Thank Armando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I (with 2 travel buddies) booked a private tour of the Big Island with Mauka Makai Adventures. What a great way to see so much of the Island in a condensed amount of time! Our tour guide Jill was very professional, friendly, entertaining, and knowledgeable about Hawaii's landscape, history, and culture. She provided door-to-door service from our Kailua-Kona location and treated us to an amazing day.
All 4 of us loved this tour and would recommend it to anyone. It was great to have the option to customize what we wanted to see and how long we wanted to spend at each stop. Ten out of ten!
Thanks for your hospitality, Jill!
Blake, Vicki, Jeremy, and Kati

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews