We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hilo
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Mauka Makai Adventures
from $167.54
More Info
from $167.54
More Info
from $122.86
More Info
from $375.98
More Info
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveler rating
531
21
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
531
21
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the big island private tour national park great tour small group his knowledge comfortable van volcano adventure orchid farm rainbow falls small van cruise ship lava tube black sand beach chocolate factory native hawaiian sea turtles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 554 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2015

We arranged our tour through an agent in the UK and were unsure what to expect. We needn't have worried Josh exceeded all expectations, he met us on time and exactly where arranged, his car was clean and comfortable and well stocked with water and snacks, although this was a tour Josh quickly assessed our likes and dislikes and adapted his day around us.

We visited "Rainbow falls" which at the time we visited was unavailable on larger tours, Akaka Falls - well worth the walk. Josh had countless photo stops for us and never rushed us. Lynne wanted to buy some "Apple Bananas" and Josh even knew where to take us for them, The girls there then offered us "Ice cream" bananas to try! (the local grocers in the UK will never be the same again).

The local history passed down through legends and stories bought the tour to life and all our photos have a meaning thanks to Josh's extensive knowledge. (Onomea Bay) is one example.

Our one regret is that we didn't stay longer or we would have booked more days with Josh.

Mahalo and Aloha
Greg & Lynne

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank GLAPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2015

Josh was a very knowledgeable tour guide throughout Hilo and all its offerings. He took us to all the tourist areas and more. Being raised locally he was able to share personal experiences and know many along our trails. He never rushed us and fulfilled all our requests...even finding sea turtles for me!! A great guide and most recommended! You won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank SandyandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2015

The tour was arranged online and Josh promptly arrived at the appointed time to pick up the four of us. He got us all sorted for the day with what to bring. He revised some of his tour as we had already visited some of the spots on our own. Josh was very knowledgeable about his island and shared many facts and stories with us. We never felt rushed and Josh answered all our questions. He took us on some paths that were empty and it felt like we were the only ones in the park. He also took us to a restaurant that served traditional Hawaiian food.

Josh went above and beyond our expectations on this day tour. He took us in search of Huli Huli chicken for our dinner but unfortunately the small markets were closed but we did find a rotisserie chicken. Thanks again Josh for an amazing day!

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Artping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2015

First of all, we enjoyed the company of our tour guide Josh, he is very knowledgeable and fun to tour with as well. He picked us up on time in our hotel at Kona with a very comfortable van (2012, but looks very new and clean). He also provides water and snacks along the way.

What I like about the tour is that you can customize it somehow, like in our tour we skipped the garden area and went to Hilo coffee farm instead.

The highlight of our tour was the volcano hikes (I will let the photos speak for themselves).

It's a long day touring and enjoyed every minute of it.

We rented a car too for this trip, and Josh is very generous in giving tips on where to go to, like nice places to visit for snorkeling, sightseeing, etc..

We will certainly book with Josh again when we come back.

Ron.

Date of experience: February 2015
3  Thank Greyster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2015

This tour is the best money can buy! The guide, Josh, is a Hawaiian native with an immense knowledge base of Hawai'i. The tour was small in size, making it very personal. The pace of the tour was based on our desires. Fabulous experience. Josh was prompt, efficient, friendly, knowledgeable, and fun! Would highly recommend this tour/company to anyone wanting to get a true taste of the Big Island!!

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank Sebuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews