We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient, comfortable budget accommodations”
other travelers have booked this property
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs Country Club front on Banyan Street
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
41 reviews
Outdoor pool seen from balcony
Balcony table and chairs
Country Club front on Banyan Street
Queen bed
Queen hide a bed
Dresser, mirror and floor lamp
Looking toward balcony through living area
Armoir and dining table w 4 chairs
Living room area
Dining table and 4 chairs
Kitchen area
Bathroom and linens
Bathroom sink area
Lilikulani Park walking distance
Coconut Island Park walking distance
Daily maintenance for outdoor pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hilo, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Japanese first
Any
English first
cowcatsmo...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable budget accommodations”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
5
people found this review helpful

As others have noted, this studio condo is simply furnished and a little run down, but the location is good and the view is spectacular, especially when the cruise ships are coming and going. The bed is very comfortable, the sofa less so, and if you intend to watch a lot of TV you might find reception a problem, although the Wifi works pretty well. There are plenty of dishes and some useful small appliances (coffee maker, electric frying pan, toaster that sort of toasts) as well as a full-size fridge that's very handy. The building, while run down, was clean and quiet, and the washers and dryers on ground level were convenient and not expensive. All in all, good budget accommodations for 1-2 people spending a few days in Hilo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan1230
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Location and View”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This studio has a wonderful wall of windows with a view of Hilo Bay. After a month here, we have the rhythm of the water.

At dawn, two barefoot stand-up paddle boarders commute past the sailboat anchored just off shore. A few minutes later, a beautiful woman appears in the parking lot below the balcony and lays her purple yoga matt out on the small cement pier that extends a few feet into the bay. As the sun rises through the palm tree the yoga lady leaves and a small turtle swims into the area between the pool and the pier. We notice the whales blowing and splashing in the distance as we eat breakfast. While the whales play, an older woman arrives at the pool and puts on her white swim cap before doing her laps. I could describe the whole day, week or month which rises and falls outside of the windows, but you should just come and see for yourself.

I just paused and read some of the previous reviews of the condo so that I could see what important things you might want to know that other guests didn't already cover. I noticed a couple of reviews that focused on the building being old or the room being small. Both are true but my husband and I love Hilo because nothing is new or big.

Beyond the view, the location is terrific. There are four good restaurants and 5 bars within close walking distance. We had a very nice dinner at the Palms. The Vietnamese restaurant and the sandwich place next to it are both good. Check out Coqui's Hideaway especially on a night they have live music. On Wednesday, we walked over for a beer and wound up staying several hours dancing and listening to the best live music we have ever heard in any bar anywhere.

We haven't watched TV but we did stream movies through Wi-Fi. There were signal drops here and there but it has never been slow. We've used the kitchen a lot and it has been fine. We didn't turn on the air conditioner as we've left the patio doors open since the day we arrived. When there was no breeze, we ran a small fan that we picked up at target.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padma211
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed December 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The location of the Condo was good. But that's all. the condo was strictly ok. Not a lot of space. The kitchen utensils all looked very old, the stove rusty, the internet did not work. It did have everything required though. But if you are planning to spend a lot of time relaxing in the condo, then its not the best choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition of room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Awinkl
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Easy to find - and when you enter and open the Balcony Door - there is the water-view!!
Everything is there, Cutlery, Plates, Glasses, (bottle opener....) a large Fridge, a decent size bathroom and a good WiFi connection - (use the available Lead-cable).
During my stay, several Cruise Ships came to Hilo and it was interesting to see them maneuver in-and out of the harbor.... right from the balcony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Due to the proximity of the water (and the occasional Rain) the sliding Glass Doors get slightly smudged
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capecodgu...
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great condo unit, great location”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This unit is very well maintained by the owner. All appliances (fridge, microwave, etc.) worked fine, as did the shower. WiFi was free and worked fine but the cable TV reception was poor (the lower-numbered channels could not be watched at all and others had static lines across the picture). The bed was large and very comfortable. This unit is at the end of the complex and faces Reed's Bay. The lanai looks out on the condo pool below and Reed's Bay with a single coconut palm between. A nice refreshing breeze blows in off the bay - - I left the lanai door open and never used the AC (it was on when I arrived so I know it works well). I could hear the gentle lapping of waves on the rocky coast all night long (there is no beach here - - not unusual in Hilo). From bed at night I could look out the lanai and watch the moon rise behind that single palm tree.

Keep in mind that every unit's quality depends on its location in the building and the individual owner. This unit is superb but the condo building itself is run-down and in desperate need of some TLC. The carpets in the hallways and 2 elevators are dirty and stained and both areas smell, the stairwells are bare concrete with paint splatters, there is rust and peeling paint, etc. The complex leases the land from the state and is very likely that the state will not renew the long-term lease when it runs out in March 2015 - - so the complex will have to shut down, which will be a shame. During my stay there were many families there that had been displaced from Pahoa due to the lava flow so they may be forced to move again in the spring and there are few affordable units available in the area. Hopefully the condo owners board and the state can come to some agreement but people I talked to were not optimistic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location of the unit within the building and location of the complex in Hilo
Liked least: run-down building and no beach (but that's Hilo)
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
55Kathie
Malvern, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect all-in-one vacation rental!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This condo was exactly as described to us. The kitchen had all the utensils, dishes and appliances you could need. The bathroom was clean and we had plenty of good towels, washcloths. The pull-out sofa was adequate and the bed was excellent for comfort. There was plenty of nice bedding. This close to the bay and yet, with the lanai door closed, you aren't bothered with any outside noise. And the VIEW! It is right on the bay! Beautiful sunrises! The room is close to the elevator and the elevator comes out right by the first floor laundry. There is a general store next door and a souvenir store one block away. About 4 blocks away is Coconut Island with good fishing and good swimming and beautiful views and lots of community activities. If/when I return, I will definitely contact the owner and hope that this condo is available for my rental again And I will tell anyone I know, who is going to Hilo, to check it out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: it is a little far from downtown, had to drive
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private wi-fi; corner condo;full-size refrigerator; ocean view; proximity to parks and beach.
Liked least: Liked it all - no complaints
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing