We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk from Naniloa Hotel”

Verna's III Drive Inn
Ranked #38 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
BabyBoomer56
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Easy walk from Naniloa Hotel”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is my first visit to Verna's and I ordered the LauLau/rice/mac salad. The lau lau meat was dry and I wouldn't recommend it. Probably microwaved and not steamed. I've tasted much better at Young's on Oahu and that's some stiff competition. Husband didn't complain about his loco moco and I thought it was very good. Given the chance, I would go back to try their famous burgers.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank BabyBoomer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    51
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fast Food In Hilo!”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I came to Hilo in 2010 and ate at Verna's. On my to do list for my return was to eat at Verna's again. I had a combo plate with spam, crab and streak. It was served with noodles and had a side of mac salad. Yummy yummy!!!! The price is right and the service is great!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvcaribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isssaquah, WA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent food and great interaction with the locals.”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The food was good, but it was nice to go to a place where the locals eat and are very nice. Great hangout.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Frey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hi
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Born and raised in Hilo, I was so looking forward to a good old-fashioned plate lunch. I've been to just about all of them in Hilo, L & L, Blaine's, Koji's, Hiro's, K's, and all the okazuya places. There are so many better options.

I ordered a chicken katsu and a friend of mine had the teri beef. My chicken smelled - I don't how else to put it, but it smelled, well . . . like chicken, except it was a really strong smell. The actual chicken meat, which is usually white at other places, was dark with a pinkish hue to it. The outside breading looked fine - golden brown, but the actual chicken meat did not look right.

My friend's teri beef was too salty for our taste, and we're both plate-lunch eaters so we're no strangers to salt.

It was take-out, so no use complaining. The time and gas to back would not be worth it. Disappointing as Hilo has some of the best local food in the state.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hiloboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good local food, Friday...”
Reviewed February 1, 2008

Good local food, Friday and Saturday open 24 hours

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verna's III Drive Inn also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Verna's III Drive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing