We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local eats”
Review of Puka Puka Kitchen

Puka Puka Kitchen
Ranked #22 of 239 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local eats”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food, local atmosphere. Ordered Ahi tuna, very good choice. Staff was friendly, and quick. This is a great stop if your walking through down town Hilo.

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food with amazing prices”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I love this place. We stop there each time we need to go to Hilo. People who work there are always happy, the cooks are cheerful and you can taste it in the food. Yummy dishes, I have tried most of the dishes :) The salads are all local ingredients extra fresh! There are choices for Vegetarians, Meat eaters, Humanitarians, fruitarians and dietarians! Those who love healthy will love this place, and those who prefer SPAM will also like their Bentos!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AGP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh food!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Their plates come with garlic rice and a fresh salad. Love the chicken katsu!
If you need organic Meyer lemons they usually have some for sale...a great deal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hiphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Hilo”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just back from our 3rd trip to the Big Island and finally made it to Puka Puka. Based on the reviews, we thought it might be a good one but they were always closed. The friendly head chef said that they are now also open for dinner---why couldn't we learn this before we had to leave Hilo?!?!

Anyway, Hilo is kind of a culinary wasteland. Nothing better than L&L---or, as we say, "L & L? Tastes like 'L " In our 3 trips to Hilo, we've hit quite a few of the (cheaper) places and, of them all, this place is the cream of the crop.

I had the garlic rice with lamb and my wife had the BBQ chicken. Very satisfying Hawaiian Soul Food! Mind you, this is a hole-in-the-wall, but the waiters are friendly and the food is tasty. (It would normally be 4 stars but this is Hilo, and for Hilo, it's a 5!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LetsGooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fast, Fresh, Freakin Good!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love this place. Lamb pitas and fried oysters! The food is fresh and the preparation is unique. Great location in downtown Hilo with a view of the bay. I love Hilo and I love Puka Puka!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puka Puka Kitchen also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Puka Puka Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing