We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homestyle eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Osaka

Restaurant Osaka
Ranked #120 of 238 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Korean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Pahoa, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“homestyle eatery”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I enjoy osaka's great hmbg stk plate. The burgr is homemade, the gravy great n plentiful. Only place to find homemade burger.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harriet Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

From the outside, this place looks 'not so good'. From the inside, this place looks 'not so good'! The food, however, is very good! We went with a group of 15 and everyone liked their food. I had the kalbi beef and it was very good, I would definitely get it again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pwb6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised, good beef teriyaki & tempure”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Wouldn't have chosen this place by curb apeal but definitely turned out good. Combination Lunch with several yummy choices like beef teriyaki, ginger pork, tempura. All served with rice, miso soup, potato salad, and cabbage slaw for $15.

Has a varied, good looking Korean menu but unfortunately it's not available until after 5. Tried the Kimchee though and it was nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmandaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will come back again.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I ordered the butterfish - ozen style. The best butterfish I ever tasted - teriyaki taste. The portion was small and watch out for the bones! My husband had the mochi chicken. I tasted it and it's very good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toots808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keaau
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Local Cuisine”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This place has great local food and an nostalgic atmosphere. The wait staff is friendly. Specials are posted and I recommend all of them. The prices are resonable and alcohal is available.
Try it!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank food000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Osaka also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Restaurant Osaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing