We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini-chain, local-style”
Review of Blane's Drive Inn

Blane's Drive Inn
Ranked #161 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Restaurant details
New York
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A mini-chain, local-style”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

There are several Blane's in and around Hilo. Drive-in-diner style, very popular with locals (and one of the few places open until 8 in some locations). Everything from chicken dishes to Asian style. Daily specials. To repeat, there is more than one Blane's, though they share the food style, prices, and ambience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank drmikenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yummy and fast”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great value, easily accessible. You get free miso with your combination plate upon request.a ton of outdoor seating. A lot of food for your money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank biochemgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Our kitchen”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When we lived in Hilo, we would always jokingly call Blane's our kitchen. Whenever we didn't feel like cooking, we'd just walk down the hill and eat at this Blane's. Nothing fancy but with an occasionally surprisingly good item. This visit was also met with a very helpful young lady server.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjt520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Love this local kine place”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Awesome ono grinds, every kind of local fare here at this icon of Hilo town. Both locations have the same menu and cool outside seating, best prices too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Biomass per unit currency is high”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

If you are on a budget you should utilize this place at least once a day, you can fill yourself up on less than 5 dollars. We had an idea to cook to save money on our trip, but ended up eating at Blane's nearly twice a day - leaving us money left over for beer!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blane's Drive Inn also viewed

Keaau, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Blane's Drive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing