We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great authentic food great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant

Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant
Ranked #57 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic food great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great food very authentic flavors. Been to Thailand many times and the food tastes very close. Massaman curry is awesome and try the thai garlic salmon. Owners very friendly cozy.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drewdogg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Correction: Royal Siam in Hilo, Hawaii is open for business!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

In March of 2012, I wrote a review stating that the restaurant was closed. The sign they placed in the window, "Royal Siam is now closed" seemed so final.

Recently, I was surprised to see the restaurant open again.

Please give them a try, their food is delicious!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KaleiBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We ate there recently, it was delicious, but I think they are closed for business.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I remember this restaurant from the mid 80's, not sure how long it has been there. The yellow curry was delicious. Pong was an inviting host as he took our orders and brought us our food. I think his wife was cooking the food. Unfortunately, a few weeks after we ate there, I saw a "closed for business" sign in the window. The funny thing is that other signage in the window still makes it appear to be an active restaurant.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank KaleiBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Exceptionally fresh and tasty Thai fool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Royal Siam is a small, kind of older Hilo restaurant. Decor is nothing fancy, but the food is excellent. My family and I went twice during our stay in Hilo and loved the fresh seafood dishes. Service was great. Very economical.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Thai hole-in-the-wall EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Decor could use an update...but it is clean and well kept up. The lighting is great for a place to curl up, read a book, and enjoy a cold beer and some terrific Thai food! Pongsan, the owner, has been open for 20 years and has his recipes perfected...a wonderful pag thai has surprizes everywhere. The red curry was creamy and made all the elements of the meal superb. I especially enjoyed nthe shrimp satay...order it and be overwhelmed with a party in your mouth. Low prices, high quality...just great Thai!
11 am-9 pm

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GAndersGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Royal SIAM Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing