We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of those places you have to eat at.”
Review of Miyo's

Miyo's
Ranked #27 of 239 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One of those places you have to eat at.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went for dinner although lunch time would have been as good. The place was humming. This is shere the locals come with their families. A few tourists too. We waited about 15 minutes for a table. The hostess was very apologetic for that. Service was excellent. Food was excellent wuth a wide choice. We went for a combo bento and got a lot of food for about $20 each. Very good tempura, some sashimi, seafood, vege, etc. It was definitely a filling feast. Just wish we could have a return visit. Take the time and have a meal there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    88
    27
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Don't trust the local vote if you're experienced eating elsewhere!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This restaurant has a very loyal local following. But, most of these folks don't 'get off the rock' much. So, average food, indifferent service, long waits, a not too clean place, even in the new location etc. are acceptable. Save up your kala and go across the parking lot of this new strip mall and eat sushi flown in from Tsuji Market in Tokyo at Takenoko's!! …Or, eat down at the end of the strip mall on the Manono side, at Hawaiian Style Cafe and take home leftovers… where the menu is local, changing, big, the place is clean and, the servers are well-trained and happy. The experience is satisfying.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fatoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad waitress”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

great food, but bad waitress,especially this old hawaiian lady in her late 60s skinny with glasses, it was like 8pm and the restaurant doesn't close till 8:30, plenty of table open, so i'm sitting waiting next to the front door waiting to be seated, she walk and looks at me and just ignore me, so after 15min of waiting, i decided to go and sit at the table myself, she see me and then goes and tell one of other waitress to tell me their closed, that's not right......., she could told earlier when she saw me waiting to be seated. 30min is plenty of time to order and eat , after they close they still have to clean up but , i guess customer is not very important to her, she just want to go home early. i hope the owner reads this and do something about it if not there be loosing customer.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, CO
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, odd service”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Declares itself to be a Japanese family restaurant, and that is exactly what it appeared to be. very busy, did not look like a touristy crowd on a rainy Monday night, bur the place was jammed. Fresh fish was just great! It took 10 minutes or so to get noticed, waiting to check in, as the hostess was totally manic seating others. Next time, we will make reservations. Server was prompt, pleasant, helpful - but when she pulled our soup spoons out of her tip pocket with loose bills and change, we elected to do without. Atmosphere is very simple. no liquor license, but that was ok. More food than we could finish. We will go back again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barring C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bento Box was outstanding”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

First make a reservation in advance. Very busy place! Loved the Sesame Chicken Bento Box. Came with an amazing miso soup and ahi sashimi. Wow was the ahi delicious! Also BYO Beer. Lots of locals and Hilo families dining there which is always a good sign.

Helpful?
Thank mbethy214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyo's also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Miyo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing