We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for watching sports, not so much for eating”

Cronies Bar & Grill
Ranked #16 of 244 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for watching sports, not so much for eating”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We watched the super bowl here. We snacked on chicken wings (good) and popcorn shrimp (just ok). I got a burger and fries. They were really nothing special. Very blah. So blah that I didn't even finish half my meal because it was starting to make me a little sick. Good service, fun place to watch a game but don't go there just for the food, it's not worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Marhawk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    144
    51
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Cronie's is the perfect spot to grab a casual meal in Hilo. The staff is friendly and the service is prompt and efficient. The food choices are typical American cuisine. The fries are yummy!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaKrystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
313 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Friendly Place for a Meal and a Beer”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff here is very friendly and they provide good service. The food was good, and they have a decent selection of beers. "Belly up" to the bar if you want to meet some locals, who are very friendly people. We had a good time here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gaminwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Good food/service on the water front area”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I came across Cronies looking for a place to eat when I was shopping the water front area. There really was nothing special about the location or appearance but the food was very good and the service was very good. I had the fish and chips and as expected, the fish was fresh. There seemed to be a lot of locals eating here as well. So even though the location is on the north edge of the tourist area, I think any tourist would be pleased to eat here. I highly doubt Cronies ranking has anything to do with their food or service and would guess it is more about being on the edge of the main tourist area than anything else. So if you have the time, it is worth the visit for good food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Welcome escape”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

After a week in Hawaii, my GF said she just wanted normal food. Cronies was the only place we found open late on a Sunday so we went in. Service and food were great. Felt like any sportsbar back on the mainland, which was a good thing. Service and food were great as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmarajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cronies Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cronies Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing