We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cronies

Cronies
Ranked #14 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After a day out, we decided to eat lunch and my girlfriend said why don't we go Cronies. She got a salad which was big, to big for her to eat all at once. I got the mushroom and swiss burger and got it medium rare. The burger was cooked perfectly, juicy and awesome grilled and smoke flavor. Cronies is a sport's bar so it does get loud at night but during lunch it was nice and quiet, no drinkers. I didn't give Cronies an excellent rating because they should offer a smaller salad for a cheaper price. All in all, Cronies is a good place to have lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    128
    46
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge
2 reviews
“fun, sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was a great, fun sports bar. We went around St. Patrick's Day and the NCAA tournament and it was a great atmosphere. Good burger, great margarita.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice dinner in a casual setting. Friendly staff and service. Disappointed that my iced tea wasn't refilled, however the Kalua Pig and Pineapple pizza was excellent. We'll be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RussHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a long day of hiking and sun, we needed some food. The locals recommended Cronies. The food tasted great and was fresh.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank J0rgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good place for a quick burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Cronies has been around for a long time in Hilo town. If you're looking for a good juicy homemade Burger.....cronies is your Burger joint!

Burgers are made in house and cooked to your perfection. They do also have sandwiches, salads, steak, and pasta. I believe fish and chips as well.

You'll definitely get your moneys worth here at Cronies, compared to other joints in Hilo.

My favorite here at cronies is the mushroom and Swiss Burger and the double BLT.

Hope this helps.....enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamaral808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cronies also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cronies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing