We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast”

Ken's House of Pancakes
Ranked #22 of 282 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

One of the few really good breakfast places near our resort in Hilo to eat. I am not very adventurous eating but my husband loved his including the Portuguese sausage.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Judy K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 2,642 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place reminds me of IHOP but more local. The waitresses are friendly and seem like they've all worked there forever. The selection is what you'd expect from a breakfast diner - I wouldn't go there for any other meal. It's clean enough, and the service is fast enough.

The location is perfect if you're heading to/from the airport for other islands or to take a helicopter tour.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KaraXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our hotel was close by and after the first day of breakfast there, we decided to try to not spend our whole budget on breakfast... someone suggested Ken's House of Pancakes. Got there a little late for breakfast - 9:30 or so.... We were seated within about 5 minutes. (2 of us). Wait staff is typical pancake house wait staff. In a hurry, no patience if you take your time ordering. Can't remember the ladies name.. she had been there for a while. (wasn't one of the owners)
We ordered typical fare. Wife had eggs fried hard, bacon and home cut hash browns / fried potatoes, toast.I had some kind of egg, bacon, gravy rice concoction. I sincerely apologize that I don't remember it's name. It's what the locals evidently eat.
Both of us really liked our food. Plenty of it. Good taste without being too greasy.
Waitress finally smiled and warmed up a little to us. I know she see's hundreds of people a week. Very busy place.
Just so people understand that it wasn't bad but actually pretty good, IF we get back to Hilo area, we will return.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

We stopped here for breakfast. Had a veggie burrito and eggs Benedict. Service was friendly and fast. Parking was horrible. Food was delivered very fast.

We were able to find vegetarian options, however a few vegan options would be good. The food was delivered hot. This establishment makes the same mistake as most.... to much oil.
This is fast food, not necessarily healthy food. It’s a good option if that’s what you’re seeking. Vegans and vegetarians should go elsewhere.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Lira1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019

If you want something Hawaiian or just ANY food at any time, Ken's is great. It was recommended by our VRBO host and we chose a breakfast. Opted for a dish with portugese sausage in an omelet and it was delicious! We also got the option of guava, passion fruit, or coconut syrup (housemade!)...and the coconut was DELICIOUS! So many options and great prices. You cant go wrong here.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Tiffany V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's House of Pancakes also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ken's House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing