We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to Eat”

Ken's House of Pancakes
Ranked #10 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun place to Eat”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Looking for something late at night after visiting the Volcano. Most places seemed to close early. Very busy, which made service a bit slow. However everyone was aware of that & kept apologising. Food was tasty & delivered with a smile.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAS_0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    837
    811
    293
    91
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing! ”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I won't waste my time next time in Hilo. The place had high ratings so we stopped. The waitress was rude, the portions fair, the food was good! I was more than a little disappointed at the price and service when after having to flag the waitress down to get a refill I found out, Beware!! They charge for refills! They have a great location on the main turn so they will trap many people but never me again.

Helpful?
Thank mphart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and efficient service”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I had coconut pancakes and bacon, with POG and plenty of coffee and it set me up a day's travel. The staff were really friendly and despite being busy, service was efficient. It's very clean and relaxed. The menu is extensive. The bill for three of us (with ample portions) came to $38.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushford, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“24 hour local diner with great food and service”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived in Hilo late so stopped there for a late dinner. The menu had numerous items including Hawaiian foods at inexpensive prices. We had breakfast foods which were very good. Coffee was good. The service was quick, servers were very friendly and everything was very clean. Anyone ordering a certain meal resulted in a gong being sounded and all staff saying the name of the meal. Pictures on the wall of famous people who had been to the diner. Definitely not a fancy place but perfect for the laid back diner atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nothing special, but the food was good”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Ken's is one of those places that seems like it's always been there--down to the benches and décor inside. The place was moderately busy when we had breakfast about 11:00 am on a Friday. We were served promptly and I chose the Chef's Special omelette (with mushroom gravy, which was a little different) with pancakes while my wife had the eggs, hash browns and pancakes. I'm fairly certain the omelette was made from imitation eggs, but I can't be certain. It was fine but nothing special, and the mushroom gravy was kind of overpowering. I did enjoy the typical passion-orange-guava juice, a novelty for us Alaskans. And the pancakes were quite good, thus the name, I suppose. The prices were reasonable and the place was clean. It reminded me of a Denny's or IHOP, but with more run-down character and uniqueness.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarwynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's House of Pancakes also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ken's House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing