We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“best breakfast on the island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's House of Pancakes

Ken's House of Pancakes
Ranked #8 of 234 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“best breakfast on the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

they've been operating since 1971 so the whole place has a 70s vibe. so many options on the menu and they're open 24 hrs a day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflowii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    743
    266
    79
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great home style diner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This is not a fancy place. The food isn't gourmet. What it is is likely the best filling and wholesome food on the big island. Great low key friendly service for locals and tourists alike. Huge menu with many choices. Large portions. Parking is a bit tight if they are crowded. Just eat already!

Helpful?
Thank HenryFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Sumo!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Friendly staff, good local atmosphere and a really interesting experience for me. They are totally fine with me sharing my order of Aunties Sumo with my friend, and adding to the novelty, they sounded a gong announcing to the entire restaurant "Sumo!" when they served up my order. So funny! Food wise, I would not rate it as fantastic or delicious, just average. Good value for money though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Algae88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
120 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fast service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I usually eat here when I'm in Hilo. Always friendly service with a smile and good food. There was a short line when I arrived, but the hostess quickly found tables for everyone. You can also sit at the counter for even quicker service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Classic Diner food plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to check out Ken's when we were in Hilo. The four of us had turkey sandwich, Chinese salad, hamburger, cabbage and pork. The Chinese salad was the best. Portions were large.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otwoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's House of Pancakes also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ken's House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing