We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best breakfast on the island”

Ken's House of Pancakes
Ranked #9 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“best breakfast on the island”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

they've been operating since 1971 so the whole place has a 70s vibe. so many options on the menu and they're open 24 hrs a day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunflowii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    823
    800
    288
    88
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great home style diner!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This is not a fancy place. The food isn't gourmet. What it is is likely the best filling and wholesome food on the big island. Great low key friendly service for locals and tourists alike. Huge menu with many choices. Large portions. Parking is a bit tight if they are crowded. Just eat already!

Helpful?
Thank HenryFlagler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Sumo!"”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Friendly staff, good local atmosphere and a really interesting experience for me. They are totally fine with me sharing my order of Aunties Sumo with my friend, and adding to the novelty, they sounded a gong announcing to the entire restaurant "Sumo!" when they served up my order. So funny! Food wise, I would not rate it as fantastic or delicious, just average. Good value for money though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Algae88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Fast service and good food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I usually eat here when I'm in Hilo. Always friendly service with a smile and good food. There was a short line when I arrived, but the hostess quickly found tables for everyone. You can also sit at the counter for even quicker service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Classic Diner food plus”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to check out Ken's when we were in Hilo. The four of us had turkey sandwich, Chinese salad, hamburger, cabbage and pork. The Chinese salad was the best. Portions were large.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Otwoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's House of Pancakes also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ken's House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing