We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"Sumo!"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ken's House of Pancakes

Ken's House of Pancakes
Ranked #10 of 233 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $12
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Sumo!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Friendly staff, good local atmosphere and a really interesting experience for me. They are totally fine with me sharing my order of Aunties Sumo with my friend, and adding to the novelty, they sounded a gong announcing to the entire restaurant "Sumo!" when they served up my order. So funny! Food wise, I would not rate it as fantastic or delicious, just average. Good value for money though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Algae88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    690
    251
    74
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
117 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fast service and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I usually eat here when I'm in Hilo. Always friendly service with a smile and good food. There was a short line when I arrived, but the hostess quickly found tables for everyone. You can also sit at the counter for even quicker service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Winger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Classic Diner food plus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Had to check out Ken's when we were in Hilo. The four of us had turkey sandwich, Chinese salad, hamburger, cabbage and pork. The Chinese salad was the best. Portions were large.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Otwoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Expected more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

After reading the reviews we expected more. Although the service and staff were great, the food was nothing spectacular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annlfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Big Island Must See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Open 24 hours! Be sure to look online for the specials the day you are in town. Has some nice twist to all time American favorites. Affordable.

Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ken's House of Pancakes also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ken's House of Pancakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing