We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the more stylish eateries in hilo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay

Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay
Ranked #7 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Fusion, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mamo Street
Transit: Bus stop across street.
Description: Cafe Pesto offers creative and locally fresh Island cuisine in a casually elegant setting at truly affordable prices. It's menu draws from the diverse multicultural influences found throughout the Big Island and applies them to wood fired pizzas, ethnically inspired pastas, risottos, the freshest of seafood and organic salads.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“one of the more stylish eateries in hilo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

as an 11 year resident, i always enjoyed any occasion that took us to cafe pesto. ya gotta try the volcano salad!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    537
    160
    38
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Would have been nice to try it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Despite numerous empty tables we were told we would have to wait for a table. We were in a hurry to get someplace else and would have been very quick. When you put someone in charge at the door you have to know they are going to do the right thing by the customer and the owner. Poor customer service leads to people not coming again. We made sure we went elsewhere on future occasions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnytraveler2
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

Compared to most restaurants. The food was good but the menu uninspiring. I cant complain about anything.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnytraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Dinner in historic building”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

After a day at Volcanoes National Park we visited this restaurant on our drive back to the North Kohala coast. The restaurant is right on the main street by the Bay and is very convenient, and is located in a restored historic building. It has very high ceilings and a great old Hawaii feel and you can see the bay from the restaurant. Fish specials were very tasty - I had a pesto cream pasta with fish. Don't miss the eggplant goat cheese appetizer. Very nice pizzas. Friendly and quick service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank carolyninny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good bet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Never a problem with seating, counter is quicker service. Unusual menu items and we have tried them all without any disappointment

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing