We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Pesto

Cafe Pesto
Ranked #7 of 233 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Fusion, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mamo Street
Transit: Bus stop across street.
Description: Cafe Pesto offers creative and locally fresh Island cuisine in a casually elegant setting at truly affordable prices. It's menu draws from the diverse multicultural influences found throughout the Big Island and applies them to wood fired pizzas, ethnically inspired pastas, risottos, the freshest of seafood and organic salads.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Was a good place to eat something, but personally, when on the beach, I love to eat fresh fish and seafood. The appetizer was delicious, we asked for callamari and it was perfect!!! For entree we had a pizza, that was very good, but not spectacular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ve-A_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    520
    148
    36
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Have just returned from a holiday on The Big Island - Hawaii. Visited Cafe Pesto in Hilo on more than one occasion. Lovely atmosphere, good food, good prices. A must place to visit either for lunch or evening. Would advise booking in advance as always busy which is its own recommendation. Whatever you order DO NOT leave without having a piece of Lilikoi ( passion fruit) cheesecake - it is really is wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommended and a right call”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We needed a quick dinner in Hilo before driving to our resort. Cafe Pesto was very good for us. I had the regular Pizza and it was not the best pizza I have ever had, but close. And I am hard to please for pizza, most places are just poor.

My wife had a chicken pesto dinner and hers was very good also. There was also a decent guitar player/singer and a girl that did a pretty good hula. It was a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertH52053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food caring staff and super bartenders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have eaten the Greek salad very Ono the pizza very good and the onomea sandwich great. The staff is friendly and is always with a smile. The bartenders are fast friendly and always greet you. I always enjoy eating there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 62George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really great food with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The food, service and location were all outstanding. We enjoyed so much the first time that we went back again when we were in Hilo the next day. We all had different foods, we all shared a bit with each other and the four of us were all delighted with the food and the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmarch-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pesto also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Pesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing