We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot in Hilo”

Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay
Ranked #5 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mamo Street
Transit: Bus stop across street.
Description: Cafe Pesto offers creative and locally fresh Island cuisine in a casually elegant setting at truly affordable prices. It's menu draws from the diverse multicultural influences found throughout the Big Island and applies them to wood fired pizzas, ethnically inspired pastas, risottos, the freshest of seafood and organic salads.
Phoenix Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice spot in Hilo”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We enjoyed our lunch at Café Pesto. We had calamari and a salad. The salad was very fresh and the calamari was very good with a mango/honey sauce-very tasty. The service was very professional and efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GardeningBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    575
    171
    39
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great as always”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Can't go to the Big Island without a visit to Cafe Pesto. I feel the lunch is always better than dinner as dinner tends to get pricey. The Miloli'i sandwich is a must and also the Blue Caeser salad is winner. Really like the Wild Mushroom and Artichoke Pizza as well. As you can see, I have my "usuals". This along with the Lilikoi Margarita with Li Hing Rim! Service is normally good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KoKonutGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant in Hilo”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We ate here twice during our stay in Hilo, and really enjoyed it both times.

The service was efficient without being rushed, and even on the second evening when it was very busy and we had to wait for a table, our server made time to come over and make sure we were ok, and our food came out promptly.

On our first visit I had the Simple Classic pasta, which was lovely. The flavours were simple (as the name would suggest!) but it was very fresh and light. My partner had the Smoked Salmon Alfredo and loved it.

We also shared the focaccia with goat's cheese which was delicious.

On our second visit we both had calzones. I had the Greek, and my partner had the Southwestern. Both were delicious, with plenty of tasty fillings, The marinara sauce that came with the Greek was the best I have ever tasted.

On both nights there was live entertainment (a singer with a guitar) which created a really nice atmosphere.

I would highly recommend this restaurant, and it is worth the wait for a table if it's busy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hjeffery00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdle, sd
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Sandwich”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stopped in for a quick bite and shared a Miloli'i sandwich that was delicious! Wonderful smells throughout the whole restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ncsaknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wis
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could be so much more”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We enjoyed Pesto's a lot on our last trip and were looking forward to a revisit. Unfortunately, it fell well short. The service was very spotty, and it wasn't friendly. In fact, I am not sure I saw any staff member smile the whole time we were in the restaurant. The food ranged from awful (ahi soup) to ok. Both the stir fry and risotto could have been so much better with a little more care in the cooking. The ingredient mix was good but, for example, the rice in the risotto was still a little hard. They obviously used a quick cook method. The highlight, food wise, was the kids pizza. It was really tasty. Everything was more expensive than other restaurants in the area, $12-18 for lunches and tropical drinks were $13.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ResourceRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing