We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch and open on Sunday in Hilo”

Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay
Ranked #5 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mamo Street
Transit: Bus stop across street.
Description: Cafe Pesto offers creative and locally fresh Island cuisine in a casually elegant setting at truly affordable prices. It's menu draws from the diverse multicultural influences found throughout the Big Island and applies them to wood fired pizzas, ethnically inspired pastas, risottos, the freshest of seafood and organic salads.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good lunch and open on Sunday in Hilo”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I got the pesto burger, I saw someone in the window eating one and decided I had to have it. It was a good choice, the burger was cooked exactly the way I like it, the pesto sauce was surprisingly good on it, and so were the toppings. My wife got a salad, and really enjoyed that, and my daughter some pasta off the kids menu, and she actually ate it all, so it must have been good. The staff was friendly, the place was busy, but we hardly waited to get a seat since there is plenty in the restaurant. Driving through Hilo on a Sunday at lunch time there aren't many food options, but this is definately a good one, and is within a block of the farmer's market so it is a convenient and easy to find location.xt time I'm in Hilo on a Sunday at lunch or breakfast, I'll go here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    576
    171
    39
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“We went out of our way to eat lunch here...”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

...and it was worth it. Lunch was great, service was terrific, and the ambiance is charming. This, and its sister restaurant on the west side of the island, have long been favorites of mine when I visit the Big Island. While the sister restaurant missed the mark for me a little on this trip, the Hilo restaurant did not. Everything is good, but try a smoothie for a treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was out first visit to Cafe Pesto and we can't wait to eat here again. We were immediately seated when we arrived. We ordered calamari, crab cake salad, linguini, and spinach/dried tomato pizza. ALL delicious. Everything tasted fresh. Service was immaculate. Server came often to refill our water and replenish our bread basket. For the three of us, meal and drinks cost was about $80. The night we visited had live music too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great salad and service”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

It was my first full day in Hilo, I was jet lagged and looking for a fresh and tasty salad. The gentleman in the visitor center recommended Cafe Pesto and he was right. The salad of the day had fresh shrimp that tasted like shrimp (not the watery kind) and the greens were crisp and tasty. Table service was friendly and attentive and they sat me near a window where I could watch the people strolling by and nowhere near the kitchen, the latter which is often where solo eaters are relegated. Prices were in line with other restaurants like Pesto in Hilo.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food good service”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Great lunch. View of waterfront. Friendly people and nice environment. Good menu selection. They have an amazing sauce they make each day We put it on our Burger and fish wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Cafe Pesto Hilo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing