We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delicious Steamed Mullet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Restaurant

Seaside Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 229 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian, Pacific Rim, Japanese, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kaneohe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Steamed Mullet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went there on the recommendation of an uncle. Glad I listen to my elders. :- ) I made reservations the day before for two and at the same time said I planned to share a steamed mullet fish with my wife. The staff was friendly and efficient. The caught a large mullet the same day and prepared it Chinese style with hot oil and spices. For the shared entre they charge $5,which includes the extra starch, hot veggies, and soup or salad. We both had the asparagus soap which was very good. The fish was delicious and more than enough for the two of us... with just barely enough room for dessert. We opted for the bread pudding with haupia (coconut sauce) topping. I've eaten a lot of bread pudding in my day, but this was the absolute best ever! My wife had the same opinion. Not too sweet, with just right amount of haupia. And for extra uniqueness, the breading pudding also includes small taro chunks. In Hawaii, the appropriate phrase is "broke da mouth!". It's a large serving and meant to be shared.

Aloha

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    20
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Save Your Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Went on recommendations and was sorely disappointed. You do not get a second chance at a first impression. You enter and go through a hall way my the kitchen and then come into the dining room. The dining room is "tired" at best. Some of the food was good and more was not. The Poke was good the crusted mahi mahi was not. Breaded way to much. The presentation was not there. For the amount of money
You would be much better going somewhere else. The staff was pleasant and tried. The kitchen needs to step it up a lot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BucketList22_2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Local Restaraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food here was good, the service was awesome and the view of the fish pond was lovely making it a unique dining experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank footlooseWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las VeGAS
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“To Die For!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

First of all, don't be fooled by the looks of the outside of this restuarant....it's quite deceiving. The wait staff was wonderful, and the food...beyond amazing! I had the Grilled Salmon with Hamakua Mushroom Cream Sauce. I'm glad I asked the waiter the name of the sauce, and he brought me more... I could have drank it straight! The salmon was perfectly cooked, and the serving size was perfect.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OneTiredMomLasVeGAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very good seafood, indifferent ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

So don't be put off by the slightly funky smell in the entry: a combination of seafood and mold(?). Once you get into the seating area, you'll be treated to a view of the bay. We were there at around 6 pm on a Fri night and it was pretty quiet. Service was quick and professional. We had the ahipoke for appetizer and there was more than enough for two: nicely seasoned with seasoned with Seahawks, seaweed scallions. We were also pleasantly impressed with the macadamia crusted mahi and the grilled ahi. The salad starters were served with uninteresting dressings but the salads were fresh and crisp. We ended with two ice creams made with island berries: poha and ohelo.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank N&YinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seaside Restaurant also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Seaside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing