We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and good”
Review of Ocean Sushi Deli

Ocean Sushi Deli
Ranked #48 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Casual and good”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had a nice udon noodle bowl. My husband had a tasty tempura bento meal. All cooked quite nicely. Our waitress was so-so. But her assistant was extremely excellent. We ended up tipping him more.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    71
    28
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful, but not all that great”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Cheap and cheerful hole-in-the-wall sushi. A little
sloppy with the rice (both flavour and slapping together), but
certainly a nice way to fill up on decent fish very cheaply and
quickly. Seemed extremely popular with locals, nothing resembling atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So-so sushi”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Limted menu, basic furniture. Very informal, whatever you wear you will be overdressed. Staff friendly but overwhelmed by a crowd.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pompaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“On the bright side, you won't get sick.”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Bluntly: I know Hawaii.
This may be the worst sushi in Hawaii...
Bluntly: I know sushi.
This is the worst sushi I've ever had.

I tried to like it--but, let's be honest, it's not about price, it's about quality ingredients and knowledge of how to properly marry varying flavors to create something creative and delicious. But in this case, it's not even about that... at Ocean Sushi Deli, it's just about getting the basics right...and they got it wrong. From low quality fish and serving pieces of maki with none of the "roll ingredients" (i.e., pieces served with just rice and seaweed), to cold service and a lackluster approach to running a restaurant, this place is just sloppy.

You'd be better off with a Filet-o-Fish at the McDonald's up the street.

Unless you don't have much experience with sushi and are looking for an inexpensive way to get your sushi on in Hawaii, do yourself a favor and eat at any of the other wonderful and inexpensive sushi restaurants in Hilo.

Please feel free to let TripAdvisor and me know whether this was helpful to you or not, as it helps me improve my reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Great Bang for your Buck (if you can get over appearances)”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Delicious sushi rolls! No doubt about it... and when you consider how inexpensive each roll is, it tastes even better! Sushi rolls average about $5.00 for a 6-piece roll. Your dollar goes twice as far here, as any other sushi joint on the Big Island!!! And did I mention, it tastes great?!? I would probably rank this among the top-2 sushi places on the Big Island (after having spent a month on the island).

However, decor is almost non-existent (both exterior and interior could use a lot of work). Service is rather hit or miss... The first time we ate here, our server looked like she hated not only her job, but life in general. Fortunately, the second time around, we had a different server and she was much more bubbly, friendly and attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Sushi Deli also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Ocean Sushi Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing