We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Had An Awesome Time”
Review of Lavaland Hawaii

Lavaland Hawaii
Ranked #2 of 37 Outdoor Activities in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Tours, Rainforest Tours, Lava Hikes, Birding Tours in the most beautiful places on the Big Island of Hawaii.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our tour was incredible. Hank was our guide and his knowledge of the terrain, vegetation, history and enthusiasm for all things volcano was amazing. He even owns and lives on part of a lava field. He did a great job leading our entire family safely across still cooling lava fields, aling jungle trails and through lava tubes. I was very impressed at his ability to engage and excite our entire family, including teenagers, about the unique landscapes we were traversing. He is great at assessing and adapting the tours to the hiking skills and interests of the family members. He moved through our clan of 7 and engaged everyone in the adventure. The day was topped off by some of Malia's amazing hot chocolate (yes, it was cool at that elevation in January).

We will definitely be visiting the Big Island again and including another Lavaland adventure.

Thanks Malia and Hank!

Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Lavaland Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

first, let me start by mentioning that your family is amazing, What a group of interesting and interested people.! Such polite and wonderful kids too! Wow It made my job so easy. Thanks so much for touring the park with us. It was truly my pleasure to be your guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Lavaland Hawaii
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

402 - 406 of 456 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

We did the Lava, Wine and Stars tour on Christmas Day. Although no lava was flowing, this tour turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip to the Big Island. The Kalapana area where the tour takes place is a remote and unique place. Hank showed us some wonderful lava formations and shared his knowledge and insights with great enthusiasm. It was amazing to see a small community living on the edge of the lava and even tomatoes and lilikoi fruit growing in this harsh environment.

After the short walk (about 1.5 hours), we watched the sunset in the shelter of Hank’s open tent. Malia served us some delicious wine and homemade snacks, which were filling and tasty. We had an excellent view of the stars.

Hank and Malia were wonderful hosts and offer a well-organised yet personalised experience. As there were only two of us on the tour, it was like spending a relaxing evening with friends. I would definitely recommend this tour and would love to return when the lava is flowing.

Thank richardbarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Lavaland Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Such a fun way to spend the end of christmas day! We had such great conversation! a real fun night, thanks for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Since the lava from the Puʻu_ʻŌʻō had closed up just a couple of months earlier, there was no chance of us getting to see the lava entering the ocean. We instead ended up taking the Lava, Wine and Stars tour with Hank and Malia. Even though we were the only ones on the tour, we had a great time with all three aspects of the trip.

First the lava: a very energetic Hank led us over fresh lava (under 3 months old) where we got to look at some amazing and wild lava formations, including an old lava tube and enveloped houses.

Then the Wine: After the short walk, we went back to a open canvas tent Hank had built and Malia was waiting with some delicious food and lovely wine: hummus, bread, cream cheese and an array of sweet grapes.

Finally the stars: As the night sky became darker, we got to see a great starshow; the distant glow of the Puʻu_ʻŌʻō vent was also visible in the horizon - the only spot of light in this sky. It was amazing to have this night sky to just ourselves

Hank and Malia were great hosts and we had a great time conversing with them (the wine helped too). It was quite a relaxing end to a rather hectic day of hiking. They are very knowledgeable and even provided suggestions on other things to do in Big Island and others.

Highly recommended.

Thank Sathish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Lavaland Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Wow, I wish the weather and the volcano were more cooperative for your tour, but it was so great to share this place with you and your photos really are so amazing. Thank you for being a part of our evening!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This cool company is called Lavaland Hawai'i. My hubby and I went on a custom private tour of Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park with them a week ago. We met up with the guides at 9am and then hiked the still steaming Kilauea Iki crater, the sulfur banks trail and the Pu'u Huluhulu trail. Our fabulous guide, Malia, showed us lots of cool native plants and birds and regailed us with really, really interesting stories about Hawaiian mythology and culture. She told us a ton of interesting facts about the geology of the area including some real pearls of knowledge about the 1959 Kilauea Iki eruption. We all had some really delicious sandwiches for lunch and then went to hike Kipuka Pua 'Ulu where we got to see a native forest chock full of birds (native and non) and some beautiful old koa trees. It blew our minds!! We thought MaIia was amazingly well informed and extremely gracious as a host as well as a fellow traveler on the planet! We learned so much and saw so much more than anyone ever could have without a guide. It was "the best day of our trip" without a doubt. Would not hesitate to recommend this outfit. Extremely well organized, informed and down-to-Earth friendly!!

3  Thank mallory s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Lavaland Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for joining us! we had so much fun that day. What interesting guests that day. Please come visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible time we had! The lava did not fail to impress us! Hank & Malia are the kindest, most hospitable, knowledgable hosts of any tour company that I have EVER had the pleasure of going on tour with! Malia is abound with fascinating facts about the area, & it's flora & fauna. Hank's guiding skills rival the very best Native American tracking skills! As we entered the tour, he walked us by some absolutely intriguing sights, including pukas, where the lava had burned the base of the tree which left a hole over a meter deep, & my first ever encounter in the wild with a bucket list item of mine, Pele's hair! I've always wanted to see it in its natural state, & we walked right up to some! Incredible! Then came the star of the show, Madame Pele herself! She spewed lava into the ocean nonstop for us as we watched, jaws hanging! We arrived while still light out & watched the sun set over the mountain. As darkness fell, we were treated to a spectacular array of lighting conditions, mini lava explosions, & even a "Firehose" of lava pouring into the water. After what seemed an eternity, & a fleeting second all in one, we headed back the way we came, only to be astounded by Hank's guiding ability as he walked us, in the PITCH BLACK of night, right by the very things we saw on our way out in broad daylight! The landscape all looked the same, & yet he navigated us along the exact same route! Unbelievable!!!
I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND visiting this surreal adventure... it will change your life!!!

1  Thank ksamson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry P, Owner at Lavaland Hawaii, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

That was a great evening. We were so glad you joined us and made it that much more special. It was a night for lava, and what nice people to spend an evening with. Thank you for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavaland Hawaii also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Lavaland Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing