We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stop!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine

Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine
Ranked #2 of 237 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valhalla, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Stop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Looking for a lunch stop after visiting Volcano National Park....this was a perfect stop! We ordered a burger and Chicken Sandwich - both were fresh and delicious! The reviews we read did not disappoint! Authentic Hawaiian singer added to the friendly atmosphere at Pineapples! Stop here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mek25_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    318
    67
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This cafe was easy to find and parking along the street was okay on the weekend.There was a lady playing ukelele while we dined for lunch. Casual, open atmosphere, decent food with normal prices - not too high. The one complaint was the water glasses were dirty and the waitress, embarrassed, took them back and replaced with clean. They offered a wide selection of dishes and the burgers were great. Did not try any drinks from the bar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank epicurean321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Canadian in hilo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good interior with friendly and attentive servers. Food was falvourful and big portion.
Tried burger and fish & chips, both excellent. Really enjoyed dining here on our last night in Hilo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asiana747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Newyorker in Hilo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The manager or owner lady has relocated from New York to Hilo. The restaurant she has created is so out of the ordinary in Hilo that one needs to visit simply for its uniqueness. It is the only place open until after 8 pm. A town that shuts down early - Pineapples is a pleasant respite.
Food was good. A bit on the expensive side but worth it.
Situated on the main road at a merge, it offers very easy access from road side parking.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tarahblahsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
“Maybe it was a bad day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited this restaurant based on the reviews we saw on this site. The setting is nice in downtown Hilo and they had some live music. We were seated right away and that's when it went downhill. We ordered drinks from the specialty cocktail menu. My husband ordered one that was on the website but not on the menu. We then ordered our food. We received our food and still no drinks. We checked with the server (who was very nice and apologetic) and she said the bartender told her they were labor intensive drinks. Mine was a margarita and his was a martini. We were just about done with our meal and our drinks finally came. Mine was ok the other one was horrible.
We both had island tacos one with pork and one with fish. The fish was tough and overcooked and the pork was good but could have used some more seasoning. Even the restaurant knew they screwed up because they comped our whole meal with the drinks.

Maybe they were having a bad time with help or whatever but I would not go back. The prices are reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hollypointden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing