We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere was unparrelled”

Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine
Ranked #3 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Columbia, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was unparrelled”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great food and the open air seating makes you feel like you are in Havanna Cuba. Truly a great place to eat!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    365
    79
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had a great meal here and very good value and service. Many locals seemed to be dining which was a good sign. Servers very helpful in making selections. Also very nice atmosphere, open to the street but very cool with ceiling fans. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great patio, delicious food, friendly staff”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great open air restaurant with friendly staff and delicious food. The grilled fish (catch of the day) was cooked perfectly (medium rare, as I requested) with the right amount of seasoning. The sweet potato fries are generous and crispy. Our waitress Hoku was the perfect combination of attentive and relaxed. Definitely a great place to grab a meal in downtown Hilo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank galaxy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
810 reviews
581 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
“Definitely fresh. And tasty”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We came across this place almost by accident after we learned that the Vietnamese place around the corner did not have a single vegetarian dish (really?).

Service was very friendly. Food was excellent. The appetizer with tofu was perfectly seasoned. I had the fresh catch ahi tuna burger with sweet potato fries. Delicious. Usually I do not touch dipping sauces. Do not miss these. The spicy one is amazing, the white one perfectly seasoned with dill pickles. Combined with a local brew, this was the perfect al fresco corner lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelmutsFoodPorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minamiuonuma, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the walk!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Hilo is not a place with an overabundance of evening choices, but Pineapples, located after a decent stroll around the downtown area, was a real find. The food and service were great, but we found ourselves at a table right in front of the in-house entertainer (who was quite good) which cramped the meal time conversation with my wife - a bit further away would have been better, but it WAS a busy Friday evening, and they sat us quickly. Within a week we were in Oahu watching the news and the station's traveling weather forecaster was broadcasting from the same restaurant, reassuring us we'd made the right choice. We also had to chuckle when the forecaster, late in the broadcast, said they were 'rolling up the streets in Hilo' - his depiction is accurate but doesn't take away from the charm of the city. If you're in Hilo for at least an evening, put Pineapples top on your list of restaurants.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonycrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing