We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Atmosphere!”

Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine
Ranked #3 of 243 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Keaau, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location & Atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

First time here since it changed hands and very pleasantly surprised! Started with Pupus: Olive Tapenade and Caprese Salad, both very good. I had the Classic Burger with Mac/Potato Salad and my friend ordered the Chicken Wrap with Sweet Potato Fries (to die for!) and everything was excellent! Our server, Amy (only her second day) was wonderfully sweet and efficient!
The location is open-air on a corner in downtown Hilo and great for people watching. Perfect Hawaiian setting!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keaaugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    365
    79
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ Great local restaurant”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Great food, drinks and service. We had miso soup, poke (marinated raw fish), and catch of the day fish, seared with mashed potato. Everything very tasty. Server was very nice too. Greatly recommended for a casual lunch or dinner. On a corner of busy intersection, so maybe not the best choice for a romantic dinner.

Helpful?
Thank dyniame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good fish sandwich”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

So it's open air. I remember that they built it about a year or so ago. We had fish sandwiches. They tasted like ono but the waiter said that it was a fancy fish that only comes out when there is a full moon or something like that. It was good. I had the mac-potatato salad and it was good. The staff were efficient and relatively friendly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice place to grab drinks or dinner. Great prices, great service, nice location. Excellent happy hour specials. Also good for taking in the sights and people watching.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaKrystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lunch was great!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

A great corner lunch spot with a young waitress that was fun and engaging. I wish I could remember her name. All four of us enjoyed our meals and the owner even came by to check on us. Prompt service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pineapple's Island Fresh Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing