We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge pancakes”

Hawaiian Style Cafe
Ranked #3 of 238 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Huge pancakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

When they say "2" pancakes, they forget to tell you they are the size of a manhole cover. Light & fluffy & delicious. The kalbi beef, fried chicken, loco moco are all to die for. There were 6 of us for dinner last night. The bill was under $90.00 and four of us took at least half of our food home..that's how much there was. I like the fact they will let you swap a green salad for the mac salad. Two huge scoops of rice are also on the plate. If you order the mixed plate, you can choose any two combinations you want. Oh, we also had breakfast there & the sausage, gravy, & eggs was more than one can handle.. Everyone is just so nice here...a lot of Aloha Spirit from the staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sniffer0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    139
    40
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lucky Find in Hilo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I was in Hilo to work and ate at the hotel the first night; not a good choice. Someone I met at the conference suggested the Hawaiian Style Cafe as a great little local spot. We had to wait half an hour for a table; the place seemed to be a favorite of local families. Besides us, I didn't see anyone who appeared to obviously be a tourist. Lots of family groups including grandma and the little kids.

My husband got an evening special of a platter of Hawaiian favorites including Poi (nearly inedible, but you have to try it once I guess) He had a smoked pork that was just elbow licking good -- another pork dish steamed in taro leaves, a stew, an ahi poke that was delicious and generously portioned, a raw salmon dish similar to poke but a finer dice as well as rice. I had lamb ribs and the ubiquitous mac salad of Hawaii. The lamb ribs were delicious and the mac salad had a bit of tuna in it. We were surrounded by people having big platters of loco moco the Hawaiin version of poutine with rice topped with burger and a fried egg and then smothered in brown gravy and giant pancakes with fruit and whipped cream. It all looked great.

We have found so many delightful little cafes in Hawaii with good local favorites and simply prepared food. This was was outstanding, not least because of the very reasonable prices for this quantity and quality of food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janettravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moreno valley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feeling happy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful food! You have to have the macaroni salad! Its to die for. Great service!! Everyone from the person who brings your drinks to the owner. I am a very Happy customer!

Helpful?
1 Thank chintao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“Totally satisfying dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

You can't beat the prices and the amount of food served at this location. The beef stew came with the best tuna/mac salad I've eaten in a restaurant. The stew was brimming with chunks of lean beef and vegetables. My husband tasted my stew and proclaimed it "excellent". We topped off the meal with their homemade apple pie ala mode. The manager/owner mentioned that he personally peeled the Granny Smith apples that afternoon. Five-star service from Donna and Michelle. They were attentive to our needs and gave excellent recommendations for dinner. We left with leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank auntyhilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilo
Level Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average food and average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

The Waimea location is much better. The food was not as expected, smaller portions than the other location. There was butter on the lemon in our water so we told the waitress and she made new glasses of water. But all the lemons had butter on it...gross. Overall, not impressed with the food or service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaiian Style Cafe also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaiian Style Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing