We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class Mexican food & owner/server”
Review of La Ray's Tacos Plus - CLOSED

La Ray's Tacos Plus
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“First class Mexican food & owner/server”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I would make it a point to go there at least once a week. This week I've been there 3 times already. I just can't get enough. I will surely miss not only the food, but especially the two of you when you leave. You have definitely lived up to your Mission Statement. Merry Christmas to both of you and your families.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clint V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taco truck in Hilo!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a taco truck, but what a find, in a town with little in the way of "Mexican" food! Have been to La Ray's 4 or 5 times and have always enjoyed my meal, whether a simple cheese enchilada or one of her really good "specials"! Would eat there at least once a week, if I could... Location is in an old Chevy dealer's parking lot with tables under a canopy, who cares, the food is good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdnhilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Campbell, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

One of the best places we found to eat on the big island!!!!! We came here twice and both times the service and the food was awesome and the prices are just as good

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“January 2013 New Business Hours”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just went there again today with excellent results. I had a carnitas pork taco salad with chips for lunch and it was another excellent meal. Meet three others who all ate taco plates (carne asada steak and chicken tacos) and all said these were the best tacos in Big Island by far!

New Hours of Business:

Tuesday - Thursday: 11 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
Friday: 11 .m. - 7 p.m.
Closed: Sat., Sunday & Mondays

Credit cards accepted: with purchase over $5
Catering Available: yes

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mexican-American Taco Truck in Hilo”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Yes, finally a good taco truck for the mainstream Americano taste bud. Not too spicy 'n hot, large quantities, good eats. Homemade chips, mild salsa and guacamole, tacos, enchilada, burritos, torta sandwiches and more.

Chef/owner Lorraine prides herself on her food & it shows.

Open for late breakfast and lunch, Monday - Friday, about 11 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Her truck is located on the corner, former Chevrolet dealership lot across the street from the Kilauea asian market & the Shell gas station.

Get there before the lunch crowd - Chef Lorraine is the only cook!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Ray's Tacos Plus also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing