We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paul's Place

Paul's Place
Ranked #3 of 238 Restaurants in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

When we first started going here, there was usually always an open table. Now you're lucky if you get a table without reserving one. Paul makes delicious food that you'll want to take a picture of before partaking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FSUSeminoles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    8
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Quaint Hideaway”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Who would have thought such a wonderful cafe existed in Hilo! If you are looking for quality food situated in a quaint restaurant located downstairs of the Pakalana Inn, this is it. The decor is reminiscent of the old Lurline ship days of Hawaii and with just a seating of three tables, it is a small place with BIG flavors. I had the smoked salmon eggs Benedict and it was delicious. Even the fruit garnish that are usually just for decoration at other restaurants were the sweetest I have ever tasted. I recommend you it back and relax in this quaint Hilo hideaway and enjoy an intimate breakfast at Paul's Cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blujeansHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Note: this is the same as "Paul's Place" in Trip Advisor; the reviews should be merged.

Excellent. There are a lot of lousy plate lunch dives in Hilo, this is not one of them. Rather, it is a tiny cafe (three tables inside, one outside) with great food (breakfast and lunch). I've been there twice, having had the fish sandwhich (local ahi with wasabi) and Belgian waffle. Both were great. Items are cooked right behind the small counter. Presentation is done well and the food is light and really flavorful. I also like the location - it's in an old building and has a large picture window that is left open so the dining area is bright and breezy. It is now my go-to lunch spot when I'm in Hilo.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Hilo!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Paul's Place was such an awesome experience! The owner and daughters are some of the most welcoming people we've ever met. Paul is so passionate about the amazing food he offers and the small 4 table restuarant is really cute.

Helpful?
2 Thank RZA816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Hometown Hilo charm with gourmet food”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We ate an early breakfast here both mornings that we stayed upstairs in the Pakalana Inn. (Look for this sign and you'll spot Paul's.) Paul made us feel like we were visiting family in his home kitchen, only he turned out gourmet level food that was both beautiful and delicious. Also, great coffee, friendly waitress, cozy atmosphere, and right across from the Hilo Farmer's Market. If it's not Market day, parking was easy along the street, otherwise, get there early. Only a few tables inside, but many people came for take-out, so it all seemed to work out just fine. We ordered the Eggs Benedict every time and the papaya bowl with oatmeal was great too. Prices are very reasonable and it's a favorite of the locals...need I say more?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RangerDanger78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul's Place also viewed

 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Paul's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing