We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope your plans don't change!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lotus Garden Hilo
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hope your plans don't change!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Due to weather on the mainland (the polar vortex), I was forced to change all my accommodations on the big island and could no longer spend the night in Hilo. When I explained this to Megan she said told me policy wouldn't allow her to refund the money I paid her 2 months earlier. Policy? She owns the place I'm pretty sure she could make exception to policy due to the fact the airlines changed my plans not me. I would understand if I changed my mind but I didn't United Airlines did. When I asked her to split the cost she didn't even bother to respond to me so hope you don't have to change your plans if you plan to stay here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank jhitch46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan I, Owner at The Lotus Garden Hilo, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
At the time his reservation was made, the policy regarding refunds were clearly stated requiring 14 days advance notice of cancellation when reserving our Lohi Apartment. Unfortunately we cannot operate on the same basis as a hotel as we aren't as easily able to fill last minute vacancies. Wherever possible we try to offer alternative dates or to fill the vacancy so that we can provide a refund. In this case, neither solution was possible. While we understand his disappointment at canceling but we were also sorry to see this guest felt it necessary to post this as several communications were exchanged with this guest and we attempted to find a resolution with him.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I stayed at the Lotus Garden at both the beginning, middle and end of my Big Island trip. The plan had originally been just one night but it really suited me there & I also loved Hilo's ramshackle charm, excellent markets and Hawaiiana vintage shopping. I stayed in all of the rooms bar the Lohi Apartment & find it hard to say which I liked most! They were all clean, breezy and comfortable - also colourful and perfectly ensconced in the gardens and the overall plantation-home vibe. There were big, cheap breakfasts a few footsteps away and all sorts of tropical-fusion delicacies at the markets for lunch. Hosts Megan and Jasper were relaxed and super friendly - makes a big difference when you're travelling alone. Highly recommended Big Island stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateHSydneyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lohi Apartment the first four nights of November. It is clean and convenient, in a sort of compound in downtown Hilo. The decor and grounds are serene. We loved the fountain and fish pond next to the entrance, and the outdoor shower was a treat. The apartment was at one time a storefront, and so sits directly on the sidewalk. Megan and Jasper have done a good job of creating privacy, and even offered to let us stay in another room that isn't on the street for our first night. This was because we happened to come in on the night of Hilo's big annual party, "Black and White night". We chose to stay in the Lohi, and enjoyed the festivities with the town.

I slept well, but my husband had difficulty sleeping because of the invasive cochi frogs that have an exceptionally loud voice they use all night. This is no fault of Megan and Jasper's -- they are all over this side of the island.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Lotus Garden cottage a couple of weeks ago and really enjoyed it. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us (including two fully grown sons) and it was a very pleasant cottage- nicely furnished and very comfortable and relaxing. The setting was unique- a secluded compound yet once you go out the gate you are in the center of Hilo- steps from the KTA supermarket, Ocean Sushi, and the farmers' market, just for starters. We really enjoyed having a nicely outfitted kitchen so we could store and prep all the fruit we bought at the farmers' market. As an added bonus, Wilson's shave ice has recently relocated to a spot immediately next door- I thought I was in heaven, coming out the gate each morning between a wonderful artisan gallery and an excellent old-school shave ice place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veggiefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We are a family of five traveling with young kids and we stayed in The Sugar Shack and rented the cottage as a vacation rental. The location was perfect ( very close to the market, restaurants and there was a supermarket right on the corner). We loved our stay at the Sugar Shack. Megan and Jasper made us feel like at home. They made their best to accomodate us (like put an extra bed for our little one). The kids loved their stay and the sound of the birds (or frogs ?) at night (made us feel like we were in a tropical garden). Every thing was very clean. We definitely recommend to stay at the Sugar Shack (great location for families).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErickJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My little boy and I, who are traveling on a fairly tight budget, needed a place to stay in Hilo for one night (we had a late flight) before driving up to Volcano Village. We took the ground floor room in the Sugar Shack, which shares a bathroom and kitchen with the upstairs, larger room. The one with the queen bed was perfectly fine for us to share (my son is 9). The house is lovely, and clean, and their avocado tree had so much fruit that they sent us on our way with many! Also, they are a block and a half away from the Hilo Farmers Market. Just the right choice for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poseidonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a great stay at the Sugar Shack! We actually spent nights in both the attic and the downstairs bedroom. The attic room is very big, open air and has a large comfortable bed, just like in the photos. The downstairs room was smaller, with a small bed and was less airy, but there is a window and a fan available to use. We preferred the attic- it is definitely worth staying in the attic if you can.

Downstairs there is a small kitchen, living space and a shared bathroom. The only downside to the Sugar Shack is that there were bugs. However, we expected this given the tropical climate. Also, don't be surprised if you see gecko's on the wall.

Megan was great, very hospitable, friendly, and helpful with giving suggestions on what to do in Hilo. The Sugar Shack is in a great location, right in downtown Hilo, near several restaurants, shops, the Farmer's Market, and grocery store.

We definitely recommend staying at the Sugar Shack!

Room Tip: The attic is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilo hotels
1.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.5 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.2 mi away
Hilo Bay Hale Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Garden Hilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Garden Hilo

Property: The Lotus Garden Hilo
Address: 140A Kilauea Ave, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2982
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lotus Garden is a tropical delight in the old town of Hilo. With the budget traveler in mind, we have created a serene oasis providing 2 private guest apartments, and 2 plantation cottages. This is an experience of 'old Hawaii.' Our garden is walled on all sides with old trees and a mix of flowers and ferns, making it a place to relax and enjoy the island's slower pace of life. Stepping outside the gates and onto the street, visitors will find lots of great local restaurants and live music venues. The Hilo Farmers Market is just one block away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lotus Garden Hilo Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing