We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Interesting”

Maunakea Visitor Information Station
Book In Advance
More Info
$186.46*
and up
Mauna Kea Voyage
More Info
$223.96*
and up
Mauna Kea Summit and Stars Small-Group Adventure Tour
Ranked #2 of 81 things to do in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vallejo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Very Interesting”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very interesting and thorough explanation of volcanoes, how they form, how they flow, etc. A must for any visitor. Nice gift shop too with reasonable prices.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaggieVallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    899
    348
    130
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Subaru visit if you can”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great place to see and the Subaru telescope is a visit to do. You should have a 4x4 to go all the way up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dede_Didi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Crowded”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Everyone stops here! We were lucky enough to be a part of a small tour group and were able to escape the crowds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shell_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went to the observatory with Hawaii Forest & Trail and what a fantastic way to do it. We had a great guide, Robert, who was knowledgable and friendly. Seeing the sunset from the observatories was amazing. We've never seen such colours in a sunset and sitting above the clouds was a bit surreal. Even the crowds weren't a turn off. The star party after the sun had gone down was a great way to end the night. Highly recommended as a must see!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shell_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“cold, foggy, not too starry”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I thought it be interesting to see this visitor center, but I was somewhat disappointed. It was a long drive from Hilo, up hill, in the fog, on two lane roads, in desolate places. I did notice some slight breathing difficulty at that altitude. We probably arrived a bit later than we should. The sun did set just before we arrived. The skies were still cloudy so we didn't get great views of the stars.
The visitor center was small and very crowded. The restrooms were dirty. I was hoping there would be someone who would explain things more, but there wasn't. We did watch a film which explained about the observatories. All in all, unless you are into astronomy, this is just an average attraction.We spent more time driving there and back again than we spent at the center.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LocaLola24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maunakea Visitor Information Station also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Maunakea Visitor Information Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing